Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
205 ILCS 305/15
(205 ILCS 305/15)
(from Ch. 17, par. 4416)
(1) The membership of a credit union shall
be limited to and consist of the subscribers to the articles of incorporation
and such other persons within the common bond, as defined in this Act and
as set forth in the credit union's articles of incorporation, as have been
duly admitted members, have paid the required entrance fee or membership
fee, or both, if any, have subscribed for one or more shares, and have paid
the initial installment thereon, and have complied with such other requirements
as the articles of incorporation or bylaws specify. Two or more persons
within the common bond who have jointly subscribed for one or more shares under
a joint account and have complied with all membership requirements may each be
admitted to membership. The surviving spouse
of a credit union member may, within 6 months of the member's death, become
a member of the credit union by paying the required entrance fee or membership
fee or both, if any, by subscribing for one or more shares
and paying the initial installment thereon, and by complying with such other
requirements as the articles of incorporation or bylaws specify.
(2) Any member may withdraw from a credit union at any time upon giving
notice of withdrawal as required by the bylaws.
(3) Any member may be expelled
by a 2/3 vote of the members present at any regular or special
called to consider the matter, but only after an opportunity has been given
to the member to be heard.
(4) A member may be expelled by
a majority vote of a quorum of directors if the board has adopted a policy
providing for expulsion for any of the following acts committed by the member:
(i) causing a loss to the credit union;
(ii) failing to maintain one or more shares at the
(iii) committing fraud or any similar misdeed against
(iv) engaging in inappropriate behavior involving
another person, such as physical or verbal abuse of another member or an employee of the credit union, while transacting business with the credit union; or
(v) otherwise violating board policy applicable to
In maintaining and
enforcing a policy based on loss, the
board may consider, without limitation, a member's failure to pay amounts due
under a loan, failure to provide collected funds to cover withdrawals or
personal share drafts or credit union drafts where the member is a remitter, or
failure to pay fees or charges due the credit union.
The policy may delegate the expulsion authority to the senior management officials of the credit union. If a member is expelled by a senior management official of the credit union, the member may, within 30 days after the expulsion, seek reinstatement by appealing the action in writing to the board of directors of the credit union. The board may affirm, disaffirm, or modify the action, and the board's decision is final. As used in this subsection (4), "senior management official" includes the chief management officer of the credit union (including the person holding the title of President or Chief Executive Officer, or both, or Treasurer/Manager) and other management officers of the credit union (including the persons holding the title of Chief Operating Officer, Chief Financial Officer, Chief Administrative Officer, Chief Information Officer, Chief Security Officer, Executive Vice President, Senior Vice President, or Vice President).
If a policy
adopted by the board pursuant to this subsection (4), the
policy shall be distributed not fewer than 30 days before the effective date of the policy by: (i) mailing it to each member of the credit union at the member's current
address appearing on the records of the credit union; (ii) electronically delivering it to all members by posting it on the credit union's website; or (iii) disclosing it to all members in membership newsletters or account statements. In addition, new members shall be provided written notice of the
policy prior to or upon applying for membership by using one of the distribution methods described in this subsection (4).
(5) All or any part of the amount paid on shares
of a withdrawing member
or expelled member with any declared dividends or interest on the date of
withdrawal or expulsion must, after deducting all amounts due from the member
to the credit union, be paid to him. The credit union may require not more
than 60 days' written notice of intention to withdraw shares, but a notice
of withdrawal does not entitle the member to any preferred or prior claim
in the event of liquidation. Withdrawing or expelled members have no further
rights in the credit union, but are not, by withdrawal or expulsion, released
from any obligation they owe to the credit union.
(6) A member who has caused a loss to the credit union or has violated board
policy applicable to members may be denied any
or all credit union services in accordance with board policy, however, members
who are denied services shall be allowed to maintain a share account and to
vote on all issues
put to a vote of the membership.
(7) If a member fails to maintain one fully paid share, the credit union, at its option, may permit the member to re-subscribe and pay for one or more shares within 30 days after the date the member failed to maintain one fully paid share, without affecting the member's status or rights as a member during that period. A member that fails to re-subscribe for at least one fully paid share within the 30-day period shall be automatically expelled from the credit union and treated as an expelled member under subsection (5) of this Section 15.
(Source: P.A. 101-567, eff. 8-23-19.)