Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 405/17

    (205 ILCS 405/17) (from Ch. 17, par. 4833)
    Sec. 17. Every licensee shall keep and use in his business such books, accounts and records as will enable the Secretary to determine whether such licensee is complying with the provisions of this Act and with the rules, regulations and directions made by the Secretary hereunder.
    Each licensee shall record or cause to be recorded the following information with respect to each money order it sells or issues: (1) the amount; (2) the month and year of sale or issuance; and (3) the serial number.
    Each licensee shall preserve the record required by this subsection for at least 7 years or until the money order to which it pertains is returned to the licensee. Each money order returned to the licensee shall be preserved for not less than 3 years from the month and year of sale or issuance by the licensee. The licensee shall keep the record, or an authentic microfilm copy thereof, required to be preserved by this subsection within this state at its principal office or other place readily accessible to the Secretary and his representatives. If a licensee sells or transfers his business at a location or an address, his obligations under this paragraph devolve upon the successor licensee and subsequent successor licensees, if any, at such location or address. If a licensee ceases to do business in this state, he shall deposit the records and money orders he is required to preserve, with the Secretary.
(Source: P.A. 99-445, eff. 1-1-16.)