Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 510/10

    (205 ILCS 510/10) (from Ch. 17, par. 4660)
    Sec. 10. Sale of property. No personal property pledged or received on deposit by any pawnbroker shall be permitted to be redeemed from such pawnbroker for a period of 48 hours after the delivery of the copy and statement required by Section 7 of this Act required to be delivered to the officer or officers named therein. No personal property purchased by any pawnbroker shall be sold or removed from the place of business or transferred to another pawnshop location of such pawnbroker for a period of 10 days after the delivery of the copy and statement required by Section 7 of this Act required to be delivered to the officer or officers named therein. If the pawner or pledger fails to repay the loan during the period specified on the pawn ticket, the pawnbroker shall automatically extend a grace period of 30 days from the default date on the loan during which the pawnbroker shall not dispose of or sell the personal property pledged. The parties may agree to extend or renew a loan upon terms agreed upon by the parties, provided the terms comply with the requirements of this Act. A county or municipality, including a home rule unit, may regulate these holding periods in a manner that is more restrictive than the regulation provided in this Section 10. A home rule unit may not regulate these holding periods in a manner less restrictive than the regulation by the State. This Section is a limitation under subsection (i) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution on the concurrent exercise by home rule units of the powers and functions exercised by the State.
(Source: P.A. 99-188, eff. 1-1-16.)