Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 635/3-1

    (205 ILCS 635/3-1) (from Ch. 17, par. 2323-1)
    Sec. 3-1. Bonds of licensees.
    (a) Every licensee, with respect to any person appointed or elected to any position requiring the receipt of payment, management, or use of money belonging to a residential mortgage licensee engaged in the activities of originating, servicing, or purchasing mortgage loans or whose duties permit him or her to have access to or custody of any of its money or securities or custody of any money or securities belonging to third parties or whose duties permit him or her regularly to make entries in the books or other records of a licensee, shall, before assuming his or her duties, maintain a fidelity bond in the amount of $100,000 by some fidelity insurance company licensed to do business in this State.
    (b) Each bond shall be for any loss the licensee may sustain in money or other property through the commission of any dishonest or criminal act or omission by any person required to be bonded, whether committed alone or in concert with another. The bond shall be in the form and amount approved by the Commissioner who may at any time require one or more additional bonds. A true copy of every bond, including all riders and endorsements executed subsequent to the effective date of the bond, shall be filed at all times with the Commissioner. Each bond shall provide that a cancellation thereof shall not become effective unless and until 30 days notice in writing first shall have been given to the Commissioner unless he or she shall have approved the cancellation earlier. If the Commissioner believes the licensee's business is being conducted in an unsafe manner due to the lack of bonds or the inadequacy of bonds, he or she may proceed against the licensee as provided for in Section 4-5.
    (c) All licensees shall maintain a bond in accordance with this subsection. Each bond shall be for the recovery of expenses, fines, or fees due to or levied by the Commissioner in accordance with this Act. The bond shall be payable when the licensee fails to comply with any provisions of this Act and shall be in the form of a surety or licensure bond in the amount and form as prescribed by the Commissioner pursuant to rules and regulations. The bond shall be payable to the Office of Banks and Real Estate and shall be issued by some insurance company authorized to do business in this State. A copy of the bond, including any and all riders and endorsements executed subsequent to the effective date of the bond, shall be placed on file with the Office of Banks and Real Estate within 10 days of the execution thereof.
    (d) The Commissioner may promulgate rules with respect to bonding requirements for residential mortgage licensees and their mortgage loan originators that are reasonable and necessary to accomplish the purposes of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-112, eff. 7-31-09.)