Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(205 ILCS 635/7-4)
Pre-licensing and education of mortgage loan originators.
(a) In order to meet the pre-licensing education requirement referred to in item (4) of Section 7-3 of this Act an individual shall complete at least 20 hours of education approved in accordance with subsection (b) of this Section, which shall include at least:
(1) 3 hours of Federal law and regulations;
(2) 3 hours of ethics, which shall include
instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues; and
(3) 2 hours of training related to lending standards
for the nontraditional mortgage product marketplace.
(b) For purposes of subsection (a) of this Section, pre-licensing education courses shall be reviewed and approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry based upon reasonable standards. Review and approval of a pre-licensing education course shall include review and approval of the course provider.
(c) Nothing in this Section shall preclude any pre-licensing education course, as approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry, that is provided by the employer of the applicant or an entity which is affiliated with the applicant by an agency contract, or any subsidiary or affiliate of such an employer or entity.
(d) Pre-licensing education may be offered in a classroom, online, or by any other means approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry.
(e) The pre-licensing education requirements approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry for the subjects listed in items (1) through (3) of subsection (a) for any state shall be accepted as credit towards completion of pre-licensing education requirements in Illinois.
(f) An individual previously registered under this Act who is applying to be licensed after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly must prove that he or she has completed all of the continuing education requirements for the year in which the registration or license was last held.
(Source: P.A. 100-1153, eff. 12-19-18.)