Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 635/7-5

    (205 ILCS 635/7-5)
    Sec. 7-5. Testing of mortgage loan originators.
    (a) In order to meet the written test requirement referred to in item (5) of Section 7-3, an individual shall pass, in accordance with the standards established under this subsection (a), a qualified written test developed by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry and administered by a test provider approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry based upon reasonable standards.
    (b) A written test shall not be treated as a qualified written test for purposes of subsection (a) of this Section unless the test adequately measures the applicant's knowledge and comprehension in appropriate subject areas, including:
        (1) ethics;
        (2) federal law and regulation pertaining to
mortgage origination;
        (3) State law and regulation pertaining to mortgage
origination; and
        (4) federal and State law and regulation, including
instruction on fraud, consumer protection, the nontraditional mortgage marketplace, and fair lending issues.
    (c) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit a test provider approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry from providing a test at the location of the employer of the applicant or the location of any subsidiary or affiliate of the employer of the applicant, or the location of any entity with which the applicant holds an exclusive arrangement to conduct the business of a mortgage loan originator.
    (d) An individual shall not be considered to have passed a qualified written test unless the individual achieves a test score of not less than 75% correct answers to questions.
    An individual may retake a test 3 consecutive times with each consecutive taking occurring at least 30 days after the preceding test.
    After failing 3 consecutive tests, an individual shall wait at least 6 months before taking the test again.
    A licensed mortgage loan originator who fails to maintain a valid license for a period of 5 years or longer shall retake the test, not taking into account any time during which such individual is a registered mortgage loan originator.
(Source: P.A. 100-1153, eff. 12-19-18.)