Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 635/7-7

    (205 ILCS 635/7-7)
    Sec. 7-7. Continuing education for mortgage loan originators.
    (a) In order to meet the annual continuing education requirements referred to in Section 7-6, a licensed mortgage loan originator shall complete at least 8 hours of education approved in accordance with subsection (b) of this Section, which shall include at least:
        (1) 3 hours of Federal law and regulations;
        (2) 2 hours of ethics, which shall include
instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues; and
        (3) 2 hours of training related to lending standards
for the nontraditional mortgage product marketplace.
    (b) For purposes of this subsection (a), continuing education courses shall be reviewed and approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry based upon reasonable standards. Review and approval of a continuing education course shall include review and approval of the course provider.
    (c) Nothing in this Section shall preclude any education course, as approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry, that is provided by the employer of the mortgage loan originator or an entity which is affiliated with the mortgage loan originator by an agency contract, or any subsidiary or affiliate of the employer or entity.
    (d) Continuing education may be offered either in a classroom, online, or by any other means approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry.
    (e) A licensed mortgage loan originator:
        (1) Except as provided in Section 7-6 and
subsection (i) of this Section, may only receive credit for a continuing education course in the year in which the course is taken; and
        (2) May not take the same approved course in the
same or successive years to meet the annual requirements for continuing education.     
    (f) A licensed mortgage loan originator who is an approved instructor of an approved continuing education course may receive credit for the licensed mortgage loan originator's own annual continuing education requirement at the rate of 2 hours credit for every one hour taught.
    (g) A person having successfully completed the education requirements approved by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry for the subjects listed in subsection (a) of this Section for any state shall be accepted as credit towards completion of continuing education requirements in this State.
    (h) A licensed mortgage loan originator who subsequently becomes unlicensed must complete the continuing education requirements for the last year in which the license was held prior to issuance of a new or renewed license.
    (i) A person meeting the requirements of Section 7-6 may make up any deficiency in continuing education as established by rule or regulation of the Director.
(Source: P.A. 100-1153, eff. 12-19-18.)