Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 665/20

    (205 ILCS 665/20) (from Ch. 17, par. 5323)
    Sec. 20. Cease and desist orders.
    (a) The Secretary may issue a cease and desist order to any licensee, or other person doing business without the required license, when in the opinion of the Secretary, the licensee, or other person, is violating or is about to violate any provision of the Act or any rule or condition imposed in writing by the Department.
    (b) The Secretary may issue a cease and desist order prior to a hearing.
    (c) The Secretary shall serve notice of his action, including a statement of the reasons for his action either personally or by certified mail, return receipt requested. Service by mail shall be deemed completed if the notice is deposited in the U.S. Mail.
    (d) Within 10 days after service of the cease and desist order, the licensee or other person may request, in writing, a hearing.
    (e) The Secretary shall schedule either a status date or a hearing within 30 days after the request for a hearing unless otherwise agreed to by the parties.
    (g) If it is determined that the Secretary had the authority to issue the cease and desist order, he may issue such orders as may be reasonably necessary to correct, eliminate, or remedy such conduct.
    (h) The powers vested in the Secretary by this Section are additional to any and all other powers and remedies vested in the Secretary by law, and nothing in this Section shall be construed as requiring that the Secretary shall employ the power conferred in this Section instead of or as a condition precedent to the exercise of any other power or remedy vested in the Secretary.
    (i) The cost for the administrative hearing shall be set by rule and shall be borne by the respondent.
(Source: P.A. 96-1420, eff. 8-3-10.)