Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

210 ILCS 9/35

    (210 ILCS 9/35)
    Sec. 35. Issuance of license.
    (a) Upon receipt and review of an application for a license and review of the applicant establishment, the Director may issue a license if he or she finds:
        (1) that the individual applicant, or the
corporation, partnership, or other entity if the applicant is not an individual, is a person responsible and suitable to operate or to direct or participate in the operation of an establishment by virtue of financial capacity, appropriate business or professional experience, a record of lawful compliance with lawful orders of the Department and lack of revocation of a license issued under this Act, the Nursing Home Care Act, the Specialized Mental Health Rehabilitation Act of 2013, the ID/DD Community Care Act, or the MC/DD Act during the previous 5 years;
        (2) that the establishment is under the supervision
of a full-time director who is at least 21 years of age and has a high school diploma or equivalent plus either:
            (A) 2 years of management experience or 2 years
of experience in positions of progressive responsibility in health care, housing with services, or adult day care or providing similar services to the elderly; or
            (B) 2 years of management experience or 2 years
of experience in positions of progressive responsibility in hospitality and training in health care and housing with services management as defined by rule;
        (3) that the establishment has staff sufficient in
number with qualifications, adequate skills, education, and experience to meet the 24 hour scheduled and unscheduled needs of residents and who participate in ongoing training to serve the resident population;
        (4) that all employees who are subject to the Health
Care Worker Background Check Act meet the requirements of that Act;
        (5) that the applicant is in substantial compliance
with this Act and such other requirements for a license as the Department by rule may establish under this Act;
        (6) that the applicant pays all required fees;
        (7) that the applicant has provided to the Department
an accurate disclosure document in accordance with the Alzheimer's Disease and Related Dementias Special Care Disclosure Act and in substantial compliance with Section 150 of this Act.
    In addition to any other requirements set forth in this Act, as a condition of licensure under this Act, the director of an establishment must participate in at least 20 hours of training every 2 years to assist him or her in better meeting the needs of the residents of the establishment and managing the operation of the establishment.
    Any license issued by the Director shall state the physical location of the establishment, the date the license was issued, and the expiration date. All licenses shall be valid for one year, except as provided in Sections 40 and 45. Each license shall be issued only for the premises and persons named in the application, and shall not be transferable or assignable.
(Source: P.A. 98-104, eff. 7-22-13; 99-180, eff. 7-29-15.)