Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

210 ILCS 45/3-402

    (210 ILCS 45/3-402) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-402)
    Sec. 3-402. Involuntary transfer or discharge of a resident from a facility shall be preceded by the discussion required under Section 3-408 and by a minimum written notice of 21 days, except in one of the following instances:
    (a) When an emergency transfer or discharge is ordered by the resident's attending physician because of the resident's health care needs.
    (b) When the transfer or discharge is mandated by the physical safety of other residents, the facility staff, or facility visitors, as documented in the clinical record. The Department shall be notified prior to any such involuntary transfer or discharge. The Department shall immediately offer transfer, or discharge and relocation assistance to residents transferred or discharged under this subparagraph (b), and the Department may place relocation teams as provided in Section 3-419 of this Act.
    (c) When an identified offender is within the provisional admission period defined in Section 1-120.3. If the Identified Offender Report and Recommendation prepared under Section 2-201.6 shows that the identified offender poses a serious threat or danger to the physical safety of other residents, the facility staff, or facility visitors in the admitting facility and the facility determines that it is unable to provide a safe environment for the other residents, the facility staff, or facility visitors, the facility shall transfer or discharge the identified offender within 3 days after its receipt of the Identified Offender Report and Recommendation.
(Source: P.A. 96-1372, eff. 7-29-10.)