Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(210 ILCS 85/5)
(from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 146)
(a) An application for a permit to establish a hospital shall be
made to the Department upon forms provided by it. This application shall
contain such information as the Department reasonably requires, which shall
include affirmative evidence on which the Director may make the findings
required under Section 6a of this Act.
(b) An application for a license to open, conduct, operate, and maintain
a hospital shall be made to the Department upon forms provided by it, accompanied by a license fee of $55 per bed (except as otherwise provided in this subsection), or such lesser amount as the Department may establish by administrative rule in consultation with the Department of Healthcare and Family Services to comply with the limitations on health care-related taxes imposed by 42 U.S.C. 1396b(w) that, if violated, would result in reductions to the amount of federal financial participation received by the State for Medicaid expenditures, and
shall contain such information as the Department reasonably requires, which
may include affirmative evidence of ability to comply with the provisions
of this Act and the standards, rules, and regulations, promulgated by
virtue thereof. The license fee for a critical access hospital, as defined in Section 5-5e.1 of the Illinois Public Aid Code, or a safety-net hospital, as defined in Section 5-5e of the Illinois Public Aid Code, shall be $0 per bed.
(c) All applications required under this Section shall be signed by the
applicant and shall be verified. Applications on behalf of a corporation or
association or a governmental unit or agency shall be made and verified by
any two officers thereof.
(Source: P.A. 98-683, eff. 6-30-14.)