Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
215 ILCS 5/5.5
(215 ILCS 5/5.5)
Compliance with the Department of Healthcare and Family Services.
A company authorized to do business in this State or accredited by the State to issue policies of health insurance, including but not limited to, self-insured plans, group health plans (as defined in Section 607(1) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974), service benefit plans, managed care organizations, pharmacy benefit managers, or other parties that are by statute, contract, or agreement legally responsible for payment of a claim for a health care item or service as a condition of doing business in the State must:
(1) provide to the Department of Healthcare and
Family Services, or any successor agency, on at least a quarterly basis if so requested by the Department, information to determine during what period any individual may be, or may have been, covered by a health insurer and the nature of the coverage that is or was provided by the health insurer, including the name, address, and identifying number of the plan;
(2) accept the State's right of recovery and the
assignment to the State of any right of an individual or other entity to payment from the party for an item or service for which payment has been made under the medical programs of the Department of Healthcare and Family Services, or any successor agency, under this Code or the Illinois Public Aid Code;
(3) respond to any inquiry by the Department of
Healthcare and Family Services regarding a claim for payment for any health care item or service that is submitted not later than 3 years after the date of the provision of such health care item or service; and
(4) agree not to deny a claim submitted by the
Department of Healthcare and Family Services solely on the basis of the date of submission of the claim, the type or format of the claim form, or a failure to present proper documentation at the point-of-sale that is the basis of the claim if (i) the claim is submitted by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services within the 3-year period beginning on the date on which the item or service was furnished and (ii) any action by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services to enforce its rights with respect to such claim is commenced within 6 years of its submission of such claim.
The Department of Healthcare and Family Services may impose an administrative penalty as provided under Section 12-4.45 of the Illinois Public Aid Code on entities that have established a pattern of failure to provide the information required under this Section, or in cases in which the Department of Healthcare and Family Services has determined that an entity that provides health insurance coverage has established a pattern of failure to provide the information required under this Section, and has subsequently certified that determination, along with supporting documentation, to the Director of the Department of Insurance, the Director of the Department of Insurance, based upon the certification of determination made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services, may commence regulatory proceedings in accordance with all applicable provisions of the Illinois Insurance Code.
(Source: P.A. 98-130, eff. 8-2-13.)