Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
215 ILCS 5/805.1
(215 ILCS 5/805.1)
Mine Subsidence Coverage.
(a) Beginning January 1, 1994, every policy issued or renewed insuring a
residence on a direct basis shall include, at a separately stated premium,
residential coverage unless waived in writing by the insured. Beginning
January 1, 1994, every policy issued or renewed insuring a commercial building
on a direct basis shall include at a separately stated premium, commercial
coverage unless waived in writing by the insured. Beginning January 1, 1994,
every policy issued or renewed insuring a living unit on a direct basis shall
include, at a separately stated premium, living unit coverage unless waived in
writing by the insured.
(b) If the insured has previously waived mine subsidence coverage in
the insurer or agent need not offer mine subsidence coverage in any renewal or
supplementary policy in connection with a policy previously issued to such
insured by the same insurer, unless the insured subsequently makes a written
request for mine subsidence coverage.
(c) The premium charged for residential, commercial or living unit coverage
shall be the
premium level set by the Fund. The loss covered shall be the loss in excess of
the deductible or retention established by the Fund and contained in a
mine subsidence endorsement to the policy. For all policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2008, the reinsured loss per residence, per commercial building, and per living unit shall be the amounts established by the Fund and approved by the Director.
For all policies issued or renewed on or after January 1, 1996, the amount of
reinsurance available from the Fund shall not be less than $200,000 per
residence, $200,000 per commercial building, or $15,000 per living unit. The
Fund may, from time to time, adjust the amount of reinsurance available as long
as the minimum set by this Section is met.
(d) The residential coverage provided pursuant to this Article may also
the additional living expenses reasonably and necessarily incurred by the owner
of a residence who has been temporarily displaced as the direct result of
damage to the residence caused by mine subsidence if the underlying policy also
covers this type of loss, provided however, that the loss covered under living
unit coverage shall be limited to losses to improvements
and betterments, and reimbursement of additional living expenses and
assessments made against the insured on account of mine subsidence loss.
(e) The total amount of the loss reimbursable to an insurer shall be limited
to the amount of
insurance reinsured by the Fund in force at the time when the damage first
becomes reasonably observable. All damage caused by a single mine subsidence
event or several subsidence events which are continuous shall constitute one
occurrence. As set forth in subsections (a) and (c) of this Section, a policy issued or renewed must provide coverage, unless waived in writing by the insured, and the insurer must continue to charge the premium level set for that coverage by the Fund. If mine subsidence coverage is in force when the mine subsidence damage first becomes reasonably observable, then the insurer shall notify the insured making the mine subsidence claim that continuation of that coverage thereafter may not be necessary and is optional, but that continued coverage on the damaged residence or commercial building shall terminate only upon written waiver by the insured. The notification shall be made within 60 days after the insurer receives written confirmation from the Fund that the cause of loss is active mine subsidence. The notification shall be in the form of a separate mailing to the insured from the insurer via the United States Postal Service and shall include notification to the insured that mine subsidence premiums paid for coverage on a damaged residence or commercial building subsequent to the established date of loss shall be refunded to the insured within 60 days after the insured provides a signed waiver of mine subsidence coverage to the insurer. The notification shall be accompanied by a waiver of coverage form for the insured to sign and return to the insurer.
(f) No insurer shall be required to offer mine subsidence coverage in
excess of the reinsured limits.
(Source: P.A. 98-1007, eff. 1-1-15