Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 10/5.1
(225 ILCS 10/5.1)
(from Ch. 23, par. 2215.1)
(a) The Department shall ensure that no day care center, group
home or child care institution as defined in this Act shall on a regular
basis transport a child or children with any motor vehicle unless such
vehicle is operated by a person who complies with the following requirements:
1. is 21 years of age or older;
2. currently holds a valid driver's license, which
has not been revoked or suspended for one or more traffic violations during the 3 years immediately prior to the date of application;
3. demonstrates physical fitness to operate vehicles
by submitting the results of a medical examination conducted by a licensed physician;
4. has not been convicted of more than 2 offenses
against traffic regulations governing the movement of vehicles within a twelve month period;
5. has not been convicted of reckless driving or
driving under the influence or manslaughter or reckless homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle within the past 3 years;
6. has signed and submitted a written statement
certifying that the person has not, through the unlawful operation of a motor vehicle, caused a crash which resulted in the death of any person within the 5 years immediately prior to the date of application.
However, such day care centers, group homes and child care institutions
may provide for transportation of a child or children for special outings,
functions or purposes that are not scheduled on a regular basis without
verification that drivers for such purposes meet the requirements of this
(a-5) As a means of ensuring compliance with the requirements set forth in subsection (a), the Department shall implement appropriate measures to verify that every individual who is employed at a group home or child care institution meets those requirements.
For every person employed at a group home or child care institution who regularly transports children in the course of performing the person's duties, the Department must make the verification every 2 years. Upon the Department's request, the Secretary of State shall provide the Department with the information necessary to enable the Department to make the verifications required under subsection (a).
In the case of an individual employed at a group home or child care institution who becomes subject to subsection (a) for the first time after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly, the Department must make that verification with the Secretary of State before the individual operates a motor vehicle to transport a child or children under the circumstances described in subsection (a).
In the case of an individual employed at a group home or child care institution who is subject to subsection (a) on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 94th General Assembly, the Department must make that verification with the Secretary of State within 30 days after that effective date.
If the Department discovers that an individual fails to meet the requirements set forth in subsection (a), the Department shall promptly notify the appropriate group home or child care institution.
(b) Any individual who holds a valid Illinois school bus driver permit
issued by the Secretary of State
pursuant to The Illinois
Vehicle Code, and who is currently employed by a school district or parochial
school, or by a contractor with a school district or parochial school, to
drive a school bus transporting children to and from school,
shall be deemed in compliance with the requirements of subsection (a).
(c) The Department may, pursuant to Section 8 of this Act, revoke the
license of any day care center, group home or child care institution that
fails to meet the requirements of this Section.
(d) A group home or child care institution that
fails to meet the requirements of this Section is guilty of a petty offense and is subject to a fine of not more than $1,000. Each day that a group home or child care institution fails to meet the requirements of this Section is a separate offense.
(Source: P.A. 102-982, eff. 7-1-23; 103-22, eff. 8-8-23.)