Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 50/20

    (225 ILCS 50/20) (from Ch. 111, par. 7420)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 20. Inactive status. A hearing instrument dispenser who notifies the Department, on the prescribed forms, may place his or her license on inactive status and shall be exempt from payment of renewal fees until he or she notifies the Department in writing, of the intention to resume the practice of testing, fitting, dispensing, selecting, recommending, and servicing hearing aids and pays the current renewal fee and demonstrates compliance with any continuing education that may be required. However, if such period of inactive status is more than 2 years, the hearing instrument dispenser shall also provide the Department with sworn evidence certifying to active practice in another jurisdiction that is satisfactory to the Department. If such person has not practiced in any jurisdiction for 2 years or more, he or she shall be required to restore his or her license by retaking and passing the examinations required in Section 8. Any hearing instrument dispenser whose license is on inactive status shall not practice in Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 103-495, eff. 1-1-24.)