Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 60/21
(225 ILCS 60/21)
(from Ch. 111, par. 4400-21)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
License renewal; reinstatement; inactive status; disposition and
collection of fees.
(A) Renewal. The expiration date and renewal period for each
license issued under this Act shall be set by rule. The holder of a
license may renew the license by paying the required fee. The
holder of a
license may also renew the license within 90 days after its expiration by
complying with the requirements for renewal and payment of an additional
fee. A license renewal within 90 days after expiration shall be effective
retroactively to the expiration date.
The Department shall attempt to provide through electronic means to each licensee under this Act, at least 60 days in advance of the expiration date of his or her license, a renewal notice. No such license shall be deemed to have lapsed until 90 days after the expiration date and after the Department has attempted to provide such notice as herein provided.
(B) Reinstatement. Any licensee who has permitted his or her
license to lapse or who has had his or her license on inactive
status may have his or her license reinstated by making application
to the Department and filing proof acceptable to the
Department of his or her fitness to have the
including evidence certifying to active practice in another
jurisdiction satisfactory to the Department, proof of meeting the continuing
education requirements for one renewal period, and by paying
the required reinstatement fee.
If the licensee has not maintained an active practice
in another jurisdiction satisfactory to the Department, the Medical
Board shall determine, by an evaluation program
established by rule, the applicant's fitness to resume active
and may require the licensee to complete a period of
evaluated clinical experience and may require successful
completion of a practical examination specified by the Medical Board.
However, any registrant whose license has expired while
he or she has been engaged (a) in Federal Service on active
with the Army of the United States, the United States Navy,
the Marine Corps, the Air Force, the Coast Guard, the Public
Health Service or the State Militia called into the service
or training of the United States of America, or (b) in
training or education under the supervision of the United
States preliminary to induction into the military service,
may have his or her license reinstated without paying
any lapsed renewal fees, if within 2 years after honorable
termination of such service, training, or education, he or she
furnishes to the Department with satisfactory evidence to the
effect that he or she has been so engaged and that his or
service, training, or education has been so terminated.
(C) Inactive licenses. Any licensee who notifies the
Department, in writing on forms prescribed by the
Department, may elect to place his or her license on an inactive
status and shall, subject to rules of the Department, be
excused from payment of renewal fees until he or she notifies the
Department in writing of his or her desire to resume active
Any licensee requesting reinstatement from inactive
status shall be required to pay the current renewal fee, provide proof of
meeting the continuing education requirements for the period of time the
license is inactive not to exceed one renewal period, and
shall be required to reinstate his or her license as provided
Any licensee whose license is in an inactive status
shall not practice in the State of Illinois.
(D) Disposition of monies collected. All monies
collected under this Act by the Department shall be
deposited in the Illinois State Medical Disciplinary Fund in
the State Treasury, and used only for the following
purposes: (a) by the Medical Board in the exercise of its powers and performance of its
duties, as such use is made by the Department with full
consideration of all recommendations of the Medical
Board, (b) for costs directly related to
persons licensed under this Act, and (c) for direct and allocable indirect
costs related to the public purposes of the Department.
Moneys in the Fund may be transferred to the Professions Indirect Cost Fund
as authorized under Section 2105-300 of the Department of Professional
Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
All earnings received from investment of monies in the
Illinois State Medical Disciplinary Fund shall be deposited
in the Illinois State Medical Disciplinary Fund and shall be
used for the same purposes as fees deposited in such Fund.
(E) Fees. The following fees are nonrefundable.
(1) Applicants for any examination shall be required
to pay, either to the Department or to the designated testing service, a fee covering the cost of determining the applicant's eligibility and providing the examination. Failure to appear for the examination on the scheduled date, at the time and place specified, after the applicant's application for examination has been received and acknowledged by the Department or the designated testing service, shall result in the forfeiture of the examination fee.
(2) Before July 1, 2018, the fee for a license under
Section 9 of this Act is $700. Beginning on July 1, 2018, the fee for a license under Section 9 of this Act is $500.
(3) Before July 1, 2018, the fee for a license under
Section 19 of this Act is $700. Beginning on July 1, 2018, the fee for a license under Section 19 of this Act is $500.
(4) Before July 1, 2018, the fee for the renewal of a
license for a resident of Illinois shall be calculated at the rate of $230 per year, and beginning on July 1, 2018 and until January 1, 2020, the fee for the renewal of a license shall be $167, except for licensees who were issued a license within 12 months of the expiration date of the license, before July 1, 2018, the fee for the renewal shall be $230, and beginning on July 1, 2018 and until January 1, 2020 that fee will be $167. Before July 1, 2018, the fee for the renewal of a license for a nonresident shall be calculated at the rate of $460 per year, and beginning on July 1, 2018 and until January 1, 2020, the fee for the renewal of a license for a nonresident shall be $250, except for licensees who were issued a license within 12 months of the expiration date of the license, before July 1, 2018, the fee for the renewal shall be $460, and beginning on July 1, 2018 and until January 1, 2020 that fee will be $250. Beginning on January 1, 2020, the fee for renewal of a license for a resident or nonresident is $181 per year.
(5) The fee for the reinstatement of a license other
than from inactive status, is $230. In addition, payment of all lapsed renewal fees not to exceed $1,400 is required.
(6) The fee for a 3-year temporary license under
(7) The fee for the issuance of a license with a
change of name or address other than during the renewal period is $20. No fee is required for name and address changes on Department records when no updated license is issued.
(8) The fee to be paid for a license record for any
(9) The fee to be paid to have the scoring of an
examination, administered by the Department, reviewed and verified, is $20 plus any fees charged by the applicable testing service.
(F) Any person who delivers a check or other payment to the Department that
is returned to the Department unpaid by the financial institution upon
which it is drawn shall pay to the Department, in addition to the amount
already owed to the Department, a fine of $50. The fines imposed by this Section are in addition
to any other discipline provided under this Act for unlicensed
practice or practice on a nonrenewed license. The Department shall notify
the person that payment of fees and fines shall be paid to the Department
by certified check or money order within 30 calendar days of the
notification. If, after the expiration of 30 days from the date of the
notification, the person has failed to submit the necessary remittance, the
Department shall automatically terminate the license or permit or deny
the application, without hearing. If, after termination or denial, the
person seeks a license or permit, he or she shall apply to the
Department for reinstatement or issuance of the license or permit and
pay all fees and fines due to the Department. The Department may establish
a fee for the processing of an application for reinstatement of a license or permit
to pay all expenses of processing this application. The Secretary
may waive the fines due under this Section in individual cases where the
Secretary finds that the fines would be unreasonable or unnecessarily
(Source: P.A. 101-316, eff. 8-9-19; 101-603, eff. 1-1-20; 102-20, eff. 1-1-22