Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 60/40

    (225 ILCS 60/40) (from Ch. 111, par. 4400-40)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 40. Findings and recommendations; rehearing.
    (a) The Disciplinary Board shall present to the Secretary a written report of its findings and recommendations. A copy of such report shall be served upon the accused person, either personally or by mail or email. Within 20 days after such service, the accused person may present to the Department his or her motion, in writing, for a rehearing, which written motion shall specify the particular ground therefor. If the accused person orders and pays for a transcript of the record as provided in Section 39, the time elapsing thereafter and before such transcript is ready for delivery to them shall not be counted as part of such 20 days.
    (b) At the expiration of the time allowed for filing a motion for rehearing, the Secretary may take the action recommended by the Disciplinary Board. Upon the suspension, revocation, placement on probationary status, or the taking of any other disciplinary action, including the limiting of the scope, nature, or extent of one's practice, deemed proper by the Department, with regard to the license or permit, the accused shall surrender his or her license or permit to the Department, if ordered to do so by the Department, and upon his or her failure or refusal so to do, the Department may seize the same.
    (c) Each order of revocation, suspension, or other disciplinary action shall contain a brief, concise statement of the ground or grounds upon which the Department's action is based, as well as the specific terms and conditions of such action. This document shall be retained as a permanent record by the Disciplinary Board and the Secretary.
    (d) The Department shall at least annually publish a list of the names of all persons disciplined under this Act in the preceding 12 months. Such lists shall be available by the Department on its website.
    (e) In those instances where an order of revocation, suspension, or other disciplinary action has been rendered by virtue of a physician's physical illness, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skill which results in a physician's inability to practice medicine with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety, the Department shall only permit this document, and the record of the hearing incident thereto, to be observed, inspected, viewed, or copied pursuant to court order.
(Source: P.A. 101-316, eff. 8-9-19.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 40. Findings and recommendations; rehearing.
    (a) The Medical Board shall present to the Secretary a written report of its findings and recommendations. A copy of such report shall be served upon the accused person, either personally or by mail or email. Within 20 days after such service, the accused person may present to the Department his or her motion, in writing, for a rehearing, which written motion shall specify the particular ground therefor. If the accused person orders and pays for a transcript of the record as provided in Section 39, the time elapsing thereafter and before such transcript is ready for delivery to them shall not be counted as part of such 20 days.
    (b) At the expiration of the time allowed for filing a motion for rehearing, the Secretary may take the action recommended by the Medical Board. Upon the suspension, revocation, placement on probationary status, or the taking of any other disciplinary action, including the limiting of the scope, nature, or extent of one's practice, deemed proper by the Department, with regard to the license or permit, the accused shall surrender his or her license or permit to the Department, if ordered to do so by the Department, and upon his or her failure or refusal so to do, the Department may seize the same.
    (c) Each order of revocation, suspension, or other disciplinary action shall contain a brief, concise statement of the ground or grounds upon which the Department's action is based, as well as the specific terms and conditions of such action. This document shall be retained as a permanent record by the Department.
    (d) (Blank).
    (e) In those instances where an order of revocation, suspension, or other disciplinary action has been rendered by virtue of a physician's physical illness, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skill which results in a physician's inability to practice medicine with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety, the Department shall only permit this document, and the record of the hearing incident thereto, to be observed, inspected, viewed, or copied pursuant to court order.
(Source: P.A. 101-316, eff. 8-9-19; 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)