Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 65/70-55

    (225 ILCS 65/70-55) (was 225 ILCS 65/20-50)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 70-55. Statute of limitations. All proceedings to suspend, revoke, or take any other disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, with regard to a license on any of the grounds under Section 70-5 of this Act may not be commenced later than 5 years next after the commission of any act which is a ground for discipline or a final conviction order for any of the acts described. In the event of the settlement of any claim or cause of action in favor of the claimant or the reduction to the final judgment of any civil action in favor of the plaintiff, such claim, cause of action or civil action being rounded on the allegation that a person licensed under this Act was negligent in providing care, the Department shall have an additional period of 2 years from the date of such settlement or final judgment in which to investigate and commence formal disciplinary proceedings under this Act, except as otherwise provided by law. The time during which the holder of the license was outside the State of Illinois shall not be included within any period of time limiting the commencement of disciplinary action by the Board.
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07; 95-639, eff. 10-5-07.)