Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 85/17.1)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2023)
Registered pharmacy technician training.
(a) It shall be the joint responsibility of a
and its pharmacist in charge to have trained all of its registered pharmacy technicians
proof of prior training in all of the following practice areas as they apply to Illinois law and relate to the
specific practice site and job responsibilities:
(1) The duties and responsibilities of the
technicians and pharmacists.
(2) Tasks and technical skills, policies, and
(3) Compounding, packaging, labeling, and storage.
(4) Pharmaceutical and medical terminology.
(5) Record keeping requirements.
(6) The ability to perform and apply arithmetic
Beginning January 1, 2022, it shall also be the joint responsibility of a pharmacy and its pharmacist in charge to ensure that all new pharmacy technicians are educated and trained using a standard nationally accredited education and training program, such as those accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)/the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) or other board approved education and training programs. The pharmacist in charge is not required to provide the required education to the pharmacy technician, but the pharmacist in charge must ensure that the pharmacy technician has presented proof that he or she completed a standard nationally accredited or board approved education and training program.
(b) Within 2 years of initial licensure as a pharmacy technician and within 6 months before beginning any new duties and
responsibilities of a registered pharmacy technician, it
the joint responsibility of the pharmacy and the pharmacist in charge to
train the registered
pharmacy technician or obtain proof of prior training in the areas listed in
of this Section as they relate to the practice site or to document that the pharmacy technician is making appropriate progress.
(c) All pharmacies shall maintain an up-to-date training
program policies and procedures manual
describing the duties and responsibilities of a registered pharmacy technician and registered certified pharmacy technician.
(d) All pharmacies shall create and maintain retrievable
training or proof of training as required in this Section.
(Source: P.A. 100-497, eff. 9-8-17; 101-621, eff. 1-1-20.)