Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 105/11

    (225 ILCS 105/11) (from Ch. 111, par. 5011)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 11. Qualifications for license. The Department shall grant licenses to the following persons if the following qualifications are met:
        (1) An applicant for licensure as a professional
    
must: (1) be 18 years old, (2) be of good moral character, (3) file an application stating the applicant's legal name (and no assumed or ring name may be used unless such name is registered with the Department along with the applicant's legal name), date and place of birth, place of current residence, and a sworn statement that he is not currently in violation of any federal, State or local laws or rules governing boxing or full-contact martial arts, (4) file a certificate from a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches which attests that the applicant is physically fit and qualified to participate in professional contests, and (5) pay the required fee and meet any other requirements. Applicants over age 35 who have not competed in a professional or amateur contest within the last 36 months may be required to appear before the Department to determine their fitness to participate in a professional contest. A picture identification card shall be issued to all professionals licensed by the Department who are residents of Illinois or who are residents of any jurisdiction, state, or country that does not regulate professional boxing or full-contact martial arts. The identification card shall be presented to the Department or its representative upon request at weigh-ins.
        (2) An applicant for licensure as a referee, judge,
    
manager, second, matchmaker, or timekeeper must: (1) be of good moral character, (2) file an application stating the applicant's name, date and place of birth, and place of current residence along with a certifying statement that he is not currently in violation of any federal, State, or local laws or rules governing boxing, or full-contact martial arts, (3) have had satisfactory experience in his field, (4) pay the required fee, and (5) meet any other requirements as determined by rule.
        (3) An applicant for licensure as a promoter must:
    
(1) be of good moral character, (2) file an application with the Department stating the applicant's name, date and place of birth, place of current residence along with a certifying statement that he is not currently in violation of any federal, State, or local laws or rules governing boxing or full-contact martial arts, (3) pay the required fee and meet any other requirements as established by rule, and (4) in addition to the foregoing, an applicant for licensure as a promoter of professional contests or a combination of both professional and amateur bouts in one contest shall also provide (i) proof of a surety bond of no less than $5,000 to cover financial obligations under this Act, payable to the Department and conditioned for the payment of the tax imposed by this Act and compliance with this Act, and the rules adopted under this Act, and (ii) a financial statement, prepared by a certified public accountant, showing liquid working capital of $10,000 or more, or a $10,000 performance bond guaranteeing payment of all obligations relating to the promotional activities.
        (4) All applicants shall submit an application to the
    
Department, in writing, on forms provided by the Department, containing such information as determined by rule.
    In determining good moral character, the Department may take into consideration any violation of any of the provisions of Section 16 of this Act as to referees, judges, managers, matchmakers, timekeepers, or promoters and any felony conviction of the applicant, but such a conviction shall not operate as a bar to licensure. No license issued under this Act is transferable.
    The Department may issue temporary licenses as provided by rule.
(Source: P.A. 96-663, eff. 8-25-09; 97-119, eff. 7-14-11.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 11. Qualifications for license. The Department shall grant licenses to the following persons if the following qualifications are met:
        (1) An applicant for licensure as a professional or
    
amateur must: (1) be 18 years old, (2) be of good moral character, (3) file an application stating the applicant's legal name (and no assumed or ring name may be used unless such name is registered with the Department along with the applicant's legal name), date of birth, place of current residence, and a sworn statement that he or she is not currently in violation of any federal, State or local laws or rules governing boxing or full-contact martial arts, (4) file a certificate from a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches which attests that the applicant is physically fit and qualified to participate in professional or amateur contests, and (5) pay the required fee and meet any other requirements as determined by rule. Applicants over age 35 who have not competed in a professional or amateur contest within the 12 months preceding their application for licensure or have insufficient experience to participate in a professional or amateur contest may be required to appear before the Department to determine their fitness to participate in a professional or amateur contest.
        (2) An applicant for licensure as a referee, judge,
    
manager, second, matchmaker, or timekeeper must: (1) be of good moral character, (2) file an application stating the applicant's name, date of birth, and place of current residence along with a certifying statement that he or she is not currently in violation of any federal, State, or local laws or rules governing boxing, or full-contact martial arts, (3) have had satisfactory experience in his or her field as defined by rule, (4) pay the required fee, and (5) meet any other requirements as determined by rule.
        (3) An applicant for licensure as a promoter must:
    
(1) be of good moral character, (2) file an application with the Department stating the applicant's name, date of birth, place of current residence along with a certifying statement that he or she is not currently in violation of any federal, State, or local laws or rules governing boxing or full-contact martial arts, (3) pay the required fee and meet any other requirements as established by rule, and (4) in addition to the foregoing, an applicant for licensure as a promoter of professional or amateur contests or a combination of both professional and amateur bouts in one contest shall also provide (i) proof of a surety bond of no less than $5,000 to cover financial obligations under this Act, payable to the Department and conditioned for the payment of the tax imposed by this Act and compliance with this Act, and the rules adopted under this Act, and (ii) a $10,000 performance bond guaranteeing payment of all obligations relating to the promotional activities payable to the Department and conditioned for the payment of the tax imposed by this Act and its rules.
        (4) All applicants shall submit an application to the
    
Department, in writing or electronically, on forms prescribed by the Department, containing such information as determined by rule.
    In determining good moral character, the Department may take into consideration any violation of any of the provisions of Section 16 of this Act as to referees, judges, managers, matchmakers, timekeepers, or promoters and any felony conviction of the applicant, but such a conviction shall not operate as a bar to licensure. No license issued under this Act is transferable.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)