Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 105/18
(225 ILCS 105/18)
(from Ch. 111, par. 5018)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
Investigations; notice and hearing.
(a) The Department may investigate the actions of any applicant or of any person or entity holding or claiming to hold a license under this Act.
(b) The Department shall, before disciplining an applicant or licensee, at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing: (i) notify, in writing, the accused of the charges made and the time and place for the hearing on the charges; (ii) direct him or her to file a written answer to the charges, under oath, within 20 days after service of the notice; and (iii) inform the applicant or licensee that failure to file an answer will result in a default being entered against the applicant or licensee.
(c) Written or electronic notice, and any notice in the subsequent proceedings, may be served by personal delivery, by email, or by mail to the applicant or licensee at his or her address of record or email address of record.
(d) At the time and place fixed in the notice, the hearing officer appointed by the Secretary shall proceed to hear the charges, and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any statement, testimony, evidence, and argument as may be pertinent to the charges or to their defense. The hearing officer may continue the hearing from time to time.
(e) If the licensee or applicant, after receiving the notice, fails to file an answer, his or her license may, in the discretion of the Secretary, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status or be subject to whatever disciplinary action the Secretary considers proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or imposition of a fine, without hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for the action under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22