Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 107/45

    (225 ILCS 107/45)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-878)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 45. Qualifications for a license.
    (a) Professional counselor. A person is qualified to be licensed as a licensed professional counselor, and the Department shall issue a license authorizing the practice of professional counseling to an applicant who:
        (1) has applied in writing on the prescribed form and
    
has paid the required fee;
        (2) is at least 21 years of age and has not engaged
    
in conduct or activities which would constitute grounds for discipline under this Act;
        (3) is a graduate of:
            (A) a master's or doctoral level program in the
        
field of counseling, rehabilitation counseling, psychology, or similar degree program approved by the Department; or
            (B) in the case of an applicant who applied for
        
licensure before the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly, an approved baccalaureate program in human services or similar degree program approved by the Department and can document the equivalent of 5 years of full-time satisfactory supervised experience, as established by rule, under a qualified supervisor;
        (4) has passed an examination for the practice of
    
professional counseling as authorized by the Department; and
        (5) has paid the fees required by this Act.
    Any person who has received certification by any State or national organization whose standards are accepted by the Department as being substantially similar to the standards in this Act may apply for a professional counselor license and need not be examined further.
    (b) Clinical professional counselor. A person is qualified to be licensed as a clinical professional counselor, and the Department shall issue a license authorizing the practice of clinical professional counseling to an applicant who:
        (1) has applied in writing on the prescribed form and
    
has paid the required fee;
        (2) is at least 21 years of age and has not engaged
    
in conduct or activities which would constitute grounds for discipline under this Act;
        (3) is a graduate of:
            (A) a master's level program in the field of
        
counseling, rehabilitation counseling, psychology, or similar degree program approved by the Department and has completed the equivalent of 2 years full-time satisfactory supervised employment or experience working as a clinical counselor under the direction of a qualified supervisor subsequent to the degree; or
            (B) a doctoral program in the field of
        
counseling, rehabilitation counseling, psychology, or similar program approved by the Department and has completed the equivalent of 2 years full-time satisfactory supervised employment or experience working as a clinical counselor under the direction of a qualified supervisor, at least one year of which is subsequent to the degree;
        (4) has passed the examination for the practice of
    
clinical professional counseling as authorized by the Department; and
        (5) has paid the fees required by this Act.
    Any person who has received certification or licensure by any State or national organization whose standards are accepted by the Department as being substantially similar to the standards in this Act may apply for a clinical professional counselor license, and need not be examined further.
    (c) Examination for applicants under this Act shall be held at the discretion of the Department from time to time but not less than once each year. The examination used shall be authorized by the Department.
    (d) Upon application and payment of the required fee, an applicant who has an active license as a clinical psychologist or a clinical social worker licensed under the laws of this State may, without examination, be granted registration as a licensed clinical professional counselor by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 96-1139, eff. 7-21-10; 97-706, eff. 6-25-12.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-878)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 45. Qualifications for a license.
    (a) Professional counselor. A person is qualified to be licensed as a licensed professional counselor, and the Department shall issue a license authorizing the practice of professional counseling to an applicant who:
        (1) has applied in writing on the prescribed form and
    
has paid the required fee;
        (2) is at least 21 years of age and has not engaged
    
in conduct or activities which would constitute grounds for discipline under this Act;
        (3) is a graduate of a master's or doctoral level
    
program in the field of counseling, rehabilitation counseling, psychology, or similar degree program approved by the Department;
        (4) has passed an examination for the practice of
    
professional counseling as authorized by the Department; and
        (5) has paid the fees required by this Act.
    Any person who has received certification by any State or national organization whose standards are accepted by the Department as being substantially similar to the standards in this Act may apply for a professional counselor license and need not be examined further.
    (b) Clinical professional counselor. A person is qualified to be licensed as a clinical professional counselor, and the Department shall issue a license authorizing the practice of clinical professional counseling to an applicant who:
        (1) has applied in writing on the prescribed form and
    
has paid the required fee;
        (2) is at least 21 years of age;
        (3) is a graduate of:
            (A) a master's level program in the field of
        
counseling, rehabilitation counseling, psychology, or similar degree program approved by the Department and has completed the equivalent of 2 years full-time satisfactory supervised employment or experience working as a clinical counselor under the direction of a qualified supervisor subsequent to the degree; or
            (B) a doctoral program in the field of
        
counseling, rehabilitation counseling, psychology, or similar program approved by the Department and has completed the equivalent of 2 years full-time satisfactory supervised employment or experience working as a clinical counselor under the direction of a qualified supervisor, at least one year of which is subsequent to the degree;
        (4) has passed the examination for the practice of
    
clinical professional counseling as authorized by the Department; and
        (5) has paid the fees required by this Act.
    Any person who has received certification or licensure by any State or national organization whose standards are accepted by the Department as being substantially similar to the standards in this Act may apply for a clinical professional counselor license, and need not be examined further.
    (c) Examination for applicants under this Act shall be held at the discretion of the Department from time to time but not less than once each year. The examination used shall be authorized by the Department.
    (d) Upon application and payment of the required fee, an applicant who has an active license as a clinical psychologist or a clinical social worker licensed under the laws of this State may, without examination, be granted registration as a licensed clinical professional counselor by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 102-878, eff. 1-1-23.)