Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 107/50
(225 ILCS 107/50)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Licenses; renewal; restoration; person in military service;
(a) The expiration date and renewal period for each license issued under
this Act shall be set by rule. As a condition for renewal of a license, the licensee shall be required to complete continuing education in accordance with rules established by the Department and pay the current renewal fee.
(b) Any person who has permitted a license to expire or who has a
license on inactive status may have it restored by submitting an application to
the Department and filing proof of fitness acceptable to the Department, to have
the license restored, including, if appropriate, evidence which is satisfactory
to the Department certifying the active practice of professional counseling or
clinical professional counseling in another jurisdiction and by paying the
(c) If the person has not maintained an active practice in another
jurisdiction which is satisfactory to the Department, the Department shall
determine, by rule, the person's fitness to resume active status and shall establish procedures and requirements for restoration.
(d) However, any person whose license expired while he or she was (i) in federal service on active duty with
the armed forces of the United States or the State Militia or (ii) in training or education under the
supervision of the United States government prior to induction into the
military service may have his or her license restored without paying any lapsed renewal
fees if, within 2 years after the honorable termination of such service, training, or
education, the Department is
furnished with satisfactory evidence that the person has been so engaged and
that such service, training, or education has been so terminated.
(e) A license to practice shall not be denied any applicant because of
the applicant's race, religion, creed, national origin, political beliefs
or activities, age, sex, sexual orientation, or physical impairment.
(g) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the following requirements for restoration of an inactive or expired license of 5 years or less as set forth in subsections (b), (c), and (f) are suspended for any licensed clinical professional counselor who has had no disciplinary action taken against his
or her license in this State or in any other jurisdiction during the entire period of licensure: proof of fitness, certification of active practice in another jurisdiction, and the payment of a renewal fee. An individual may not restore his or her license in accordance with this subsection more than once.
(Source: P.A. 102-878, eff. 1-1-23; 102-1053, eff. 6-10-22; 103-154, eff. 6-30-23.)