Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 107/90
(225 ILCS 107/90)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Investigations; notice and hearing.
(a) The Department may investigate
the actions of any applicant or any person holding or claiming to hold a
(b) The Department shall, before refusing to issue or renew a license or disciplining a licensee under Section
80 of this Act, at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, (i)
notify the accused, in writing, of any charges made and the time and place for
the hearing on the charges, (ii) direct him or her to file a written answer to
the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after the service of the notice, and (iii) inform the applicant or licensee that failure to file an
answer shall result in default being taken against the applicant or licensee. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the charges, and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Department may continue the hearing from time to time. In case the person, after receiving the notice, fails to answer, his or her license, may, in the discretion of the Department, be revoked, suspended, placed on probationary status, or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action considered proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for that action under the Act. The written notice and any notice in the subsequent proceeding may be served by mail or email to the licensee's address of record.
(Source: P.A. 102-878, eff. 1-1-23