Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 125/105

    (225 ILCS 125/105)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
    Sec. 105. Grounds for disciplinary action.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue, renew, or restore a license, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take any other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, including fines not to exceed $10,000 per violation with regard to any license issued under this Act, for any one or a combination of the following reasons:
        (1) Making a material misstatement in furnishing
    
information to the Department.
        (2) Negligence, incompetence, or misconduct in the
    
practice of perfusion.
        (3) Failure to comply with any provisions of this Act
    
or any of its rules.
        (4) Fraud or any misrepresentation in applying for or
    
procuring a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal or restoration of a license under this Act.
        (5) Purposefully making false statements or signing
    
false statements, certificates, or affidavits to induce payment.
        (6) Conviction of or entry of a plea of guilty or
    
nolo contendere, finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, that is directly related to the practice of the profession of perfusion.
        (7) Aiding or assisting another in violating any
    
provision of this Act or its rules.
        (8) Failing to provide information in response to a
    
written request made by the Department within 60 days after receipt of such written request.
        (9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public as defined by rule.
        (10) Habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs
    
defined in law as controlled substances, of alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other substances that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (11) A finding by the Department that an applicant or
    
licensee has failed to pay a fine imposed by the Department.
        (12) A finding by the Department that the licensee,
    
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation, or failed to comply with such terms.
        (13) Inability to practice the profession with
    
reasonable judgment, skill, or safety as a result of physical illness, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process, loss of motor skill, mental illness, or disability.
        (14) Discipline by another state, territory, foreign
    
country, the District of Columbia, the United States government, or any other government agency if at least one of the grounds for discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
        (15) The making of any willfully false oath or
    
affirmation in any matter or proceeding where an oath or affirmation is required by this Act.
        (16) Using or attempting to use an expired, inactive,
    
suspended, or revoked license, or the certificate or seal of another, or impersonating another licensee.
        (17) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
    
from any person or entity any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for any professional service not actually or personally rendered.
        (18) Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports related to the licensee's practice, including, but not limited to, false records filed with federal or State agencies or departments.
        (19) Willfully failing to report an instance of
    
suspected child abuse or neglect as required under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
        (20) Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
    
report by the Department of Children and Family Services under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act and upon proof, by clear and convincing evidence, that the licensee has caused a child to be an abused child or neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
        (21) Immoral conduct in the commission of an act
    
related to the licensee's practice, including but not limited to sexual abuse, sexual misconduct, or sexual exploitation.
        (22) Violation of the Health Care Worker
    
Self-Referral Act.
        (23) Solicitation of business or professional
    
services, other than permitted advertising.
        (24) Conviction of or cash compromise of a charge or
    
violation of the Illinois Controlled Substances Act.
        (25) Gross, willful, or continued overcharging for
    
professional services, including filing false statements for collection of fees for which services are not rendered.
        (26) Practicing under a false name or, except as
    
allowed by law, an assumed name.
    (b) In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board, upon a showing of a possible violation, may order a licensee or applicant to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, at the expense of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning his or her examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department. The licensee or applicant may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination. Failure of a licensee or applicant to submit to any such examination when directed, without reasonable cause as defined by rule, shall be grounds for either the immediate suspension of his or her license or immediate denial of his or her application.
        (1) If the Secretary immediately suspends the license
    
of a licensee for his or her failure to submit to a mental or physical examination when directed, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay.
        (2) If the Secretary otherwise suspends a license
    
pursuant to the results of the licensee's mental or physical examination, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the licensee's record of treatment and counseling regarding the relevant impairment or impairments to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
        (3) Any licensee suspended or otherwise affected
    
under this subsection (b) shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or she can resume practice in compliance with the acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
    (c) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code operates as an automatic suspension. The suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the licensee is no longer subject to the involuntary admission or judicial admission and issues an order so finding and discharging the licensee; and upon the recommendation of the Board to the Secretary that the licensee be allowed to resume his or her practice.
    (d) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly the Department of Public Aid) has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department shall refuse to issue or renew or shall revoke or suspend that person's license or shall take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with subdivision (a)(5) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
    (e) The Department shall deny a license or renewal authorized by this Act to a person who has failed to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 101-311, eff. 8-9-19.)