Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 217/85
(225 ILCS 217/85)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
(a) Before revoking, suspending, annulling, withdrawing, amending materially, or refusing to renew any valid license, the State Fire Marshal shall
file formal charges against the licensee. The formal charges shall, at
a minimum, inform the licensee of the facts that make up the basis of the
and that are specific enough to enable the licensee to defend himself.
(b) Each licensee whose conduct is the subject of a formal charge that
seeks to impose disciplinary action against the licensee shall be served
notice of said formal charge at least 30 days before the date of the hearing,
which shall be presided over by a hearing officer
authorized by the State Fire Marshal. Service shall be considered to have been
given if the notice was personally received by the licensee or if the notice
was sent by certified mail, return receipt requested to the licensee at the
last known address, as listed with the State Fire Marshal.
(c) The notice of formal charges shall consist at a minimum of the following
(1) the time, place, and date of the hearing;
(2) that the licensee shall appear personally at the
hearing and may be represented by counsel;
(3) that the licensee shall have the right to produce
witnesses and evidence on the licensee's behalf and shall have the right to cross-examine witnesses and refute evidence produced against the licensee;
(4) that the hearing could result in disciplinary
action being taken against the license;
(5) that rules for the conduct of these hearings
exist and it may be in the licensee's best interest to obtain a copy;
(6) that a hearing officer authorized by the State
Fire Marshal shall preside at the hearing and following the conclusion of said hearing shall make findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations, separately stated, to the State Fire Marshal as to what disciplinary action, if any, should be imposed on the licensee;
(7) that the State Fire Marshal may continue such
(8) that the licensee shall file a written answer to
the charges with the State Fire Marshal under oath within 20 days after service of the notice; and
(9) that if the accused fails to answer, a default
judgment shall be taken against him, her, or it, or that his, her, or its license may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or subject to other disciplinary action as the State Fire Marshal deems proper, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act.
(d) The hearing officer authorized by the State Fire Marshal shall
hear evidence produced in support of the formal charges and contrary evidence
produced by the licensee, if any. At the conclusion of the hearing, the
hearing officer shall make findings of fact, conclusions of law, and
separately stated, and submit them to the State Fire Marshal and to all parties
the proceeding. Submission to the licensee shall be considered as having
been made if done in a similar fashion as service of the notice of formal
charges. Within 20 days after such service, any party to the proceeding
may present to the State Fire Marshal a motion, in writing, for a rehearing which
written motion shall specify the particular grounds therefor.
(e) The State Fire Marshal, following the time allowed for filing a motion
shall review the hearing officer's findings of fact, conclusions of law,
and any motions filed subsequent thereto. After review of such information
the State Fire Marshal may hear oral arguments and thereafter shall issue an
The report of findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations of
the hearing officer shall be the basis for the State Fire Marshal's order.
If the State Fire Marshal
finds that substantial justice was not done, he or she may issue an order in
of the findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations of the hearing
officer. The finding is not admissible in evidence against the person
in criminal prosecution brought for the violation of this Act, but the hearing and findings are not a bar to a criminal prosecution brought for the violation of this Act.
(f) All proceedings under this Section are matters of public record
and shall be preserved.
(Source: P.A. 102-715, eff. 4-29-22.)