Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 310/14

    (225 ILCS 310/14) (from Ch. 111, par. 8214)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 14. Investigations; Notice of hearing. Upon the motion of either the Department or the Board, or upon the verified complaint in writing of any person setting forth facts which, if proven, would constitute grounds for refusal, suspension, or revocation of registration under this Act, the Board shall investigate the actions of any person, hereinafter called the "registrant", who holds or represents that he holds a certificate of registration. All such motions or complaints shall be brought to the Board.
    The Director shall, before suspending, revoking, placing on probationary status, or taking any other disciplinary action as the Director may deem proper with regard to any registration, at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, notify the registrant in writing of any charges made and the time and place for a hearing on the charges before the Board. The Board shall also direct the registrant to file his written answer to the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after the service on him of such notice, and inform him that if he fails to file such answer, his certificate of registration may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status or other disciplinary action may be taken with regard thereto, as the Director may deem proper.
    The written notice and any notice in such proceeding may be served by delivery personally to the registrant, or by registered or certified mail to the address specified by the registrant in his last notification to the Director.
    The Department, at its expense, shall preserve a record of all proceedings at the formal hearing of any case involving the refusal to issue or renew a registration, or discipline of a registrant. The notice of hearing, complaint, and all other documents in the nature of pleadings and written motions filed in the proceedings, the transcript of testimony, the report of the Board, and the orders of the Department shall be the record of such proceedings.
(Source: P.A. 86-1404.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 14. Investigations; Notice of hearing. Upon the motion of either the Department or the Board, or upon the verified complaint in writing of any person setting forth facts which, if proven, would constitute grounds for refusal, suspension, or revocation of registration under this Act, the Board shall investigate the actions of any person, hereinafter called the "registrant", who holds or represents that he holds a certificate of registration. All such motions or complaints shall be brought to the Board.
    The Director shall, before suspending, revoking, placing on probationary status, or taking any other disciplinary action as the Director may deem proper with regard to any registration, at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, notify the registrant in writing of any charges made and the time and place for a hearing on the charges before the Board. The Board shall also direct the registrant to file his written answer to the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after the service on him of such notice, and inform him that if he fails to file such answer, his certificate of registration may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status or other disciplinary action may be taken with regard thereto, as the Director may deem proper.
    The written notice and any notice in such proceeding may be served by delivery personally to the registrant, by email, or by registered or certified mail to the address specified by the registrant in his last notification to the Director.
    The Department, at its expense, shall preserve a record of all proceedings at the formal hearing of any case involving the refusal to issue or renew a registration, or discipline of a registrant. The notice of hearing, complaint, and all other documents in the nature of pleadings and written motions filed in the proceedings, the transcript of testimony, the report of the Board, and the orders of the Department shall be the record of such proceedings.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)