Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 407/20-95

    (225 ILCS 407/20-95)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
    Sec. 20-95. Returned checks and dishonored credit card charges; fine. A person who: (i) delivers a check or other payment to the Department that is returned to the Department unpaid by the financial institution upon which it is drawn; or (ii) presents a credit or debit card for payment that is invalid or expired or against which charges by the Department are declined or dishonored, shall pay to the Department, in addition to the amount already owed to the Department, a fee of $50. The Department shall notify the person that the check has been returned and that the person shall pay to the Department by certified check or money order the amount of the returned check plus the $50 fee within 30 calendar days after the date of the notification. If, after the expiration of 30 calendar days of the notification, the person has failed to submit the necessary remittance, the Department shall automatically terminate the license or deny the application without a hearing. If, after termination or denial, the person seeks a license, the applicant or licensee shall petition the Department for restoration or issuance of the license and may be subject to additional discipline or fines. The Secretary may waive the fines due under this Section in individual cases where the Secretary finds that the fines would be unreasonable or unnecessarily burdensome.
(Source: P.A. 102-970, eff. 5-27-22.)