Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 410/3-2

    (225 ILCS 410/3-2) (from Ch. 111, par. 1703-2)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 3-2. Licensure; qualifications.
    (1) A person is qualified to receive a license as a cosmetologist who has filed an application on forms provided by the Department, pays the required fees, and:
        a. Is at least l6 years of age; and
        b. Is beyond the age of compulsory school attendance
or has received a certificate of graduation from a school providing secondary education, or the recognized equivalent of that certificate; and
        c. Has graduated from a school of cosmetology
approved by the Department, having completed a program of 1,500 hours in the study of cosmetology extending over a period of not less than 8 months nor more than 7 consecutive years. A school of cosmetology may, at its discretion, consistent with the rules of the Department, accept up to 1,000 hours of barber school training at a recognized barber school toward the 1,500 hour program requirement of cosmetology. Time spent in such study under the laws of another state or territory of the United States or of a foreign country or province shall be credited toward the period of study required by the provisions of this paragraph; and
        d. Has passed an examination authorized by the
Department to determine eligibility to receive a license as a cosmetologist; and
        e. Has met any other requirements of this Act.
    (2) (Blank).
(Source: P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)