Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 411/25-10

    (225 ILCS 411/25-10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 25-10. Grounds for disciplinary action.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew a license or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem appropriate, including fines not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, with regard to any license under this Act, for any one or combination of the following:
        (1) Material misstatement in furnishing information
    
to the Department.
        (2) Violations of this Act, except for Section 20-8.
        (3) Conviction of or entry of a plea of guilty or
    
nolo contendere, finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation under the law of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a Class X felony or (ii) a felony, an essential element of which is fraud or dishonesty that is directly related to the practice of cemetery operations.
        (4) Fraud or any misrepresentation in applying for or
    
procuring a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal.
        (5) Incompetence or misconduct in the practice of
    
cemetery operations.
        (6) Gross malpractice.
        (7) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
    
any provision of this Act or rules adopted under this Act.
        (8) Failing, within 10 business days, to provide
    
information in response to a written request made by the Department.
        (9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
        (10) Habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs
    
defined in law as controlled substances, alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other substances that results in the inability to practice pursuant to the provisions of this Act with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety while acting under the provisions of this Act.
        (11) Discipline by another state, territory,
    
foreign country, the District of Columbia, the United States government, or any other government agency, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
        (12) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
    
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for professional services not actually or personally rendered.
        (13) A finding by the Department that the licensee,
    
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation or failed to comply with such terms.
        (14) Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports in his or her practice, including, but not limited to, false records filed with any governmental agency or department.
        (15) Inability to practice the profession with
    
reasonable judgment, skill, or safety as a result of physical illness, including, but not limited to, loss of motor skill, mental illness, or disability.
        (16) Failure to comply with an order, decision, or
    
finding of the Department made pursuant to this Act.
        (17) Directly or indirectly receiving compensation
    
for any professional services not actually performed.
        (18) Practicing under a false or, except as provided
    
by law, an assumed name.
        (19) Using or attempting to use an expired, inactive,
    
suspended, or revoked license or impersonating another licensee.
        (20) A finding by the Department that an applicant or
    
licensee has failed to pay a fine imposed by the Department.
        (21) Unjustified failure to honor its contracts.
        (22) Negligent supervision of a cemetery manager,
    
customer service employee, employee, or independent contractor.
        (23) (Blank).
        (24) (Blank).
        (25) (Blank).
    (b) No action may be taken under this Act against a person licensed under this Act for an occurrence or alleged occurrence that predates the enactment of this Act.
    (c) In enforcing this Section, the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may order a licensee or applicant to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, at the expense of the Department. The Department may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning his or her examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Department. The licensee or applicant may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of the examination. Failure of a licensee or applicant to submit to any such examination when directed, without reasonable cause, shall be grounds for either immediate suspending of his or her license or immediate denial of his or her application.
        (1) If the Secretary immediately suspends the license
    
of a licensee for his or her failure to submit to a mental or physical examination when directed, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay.
        (2) If the Secretary otherwise suspends a license
    
pursuant to the results of the licensee's mental or physical examination, a hearing must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department shall have the authority to review the licensee's record of treatment and counseling regarding the relevant impairment or impairments to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
        (3) Any licensee suspended under this subsection
    
shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that he or she can resume practice in compliance with the acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
    (d) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, operates as an automatic suspension. Such suspension may end only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, the issuance of an order so finding and discharging the patient, and the filing of a petition for restoration demonstrating fitness to practice.
    (e) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department shall refuse to issue or renew or shall revoke or suspend that person's license or shall take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services under paragraph (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
    (f) The Department shall refuse to issue or renew or shall revoke or suspend a person's license or shall take other disciplinary action against that person for his or her failure to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 6-25-21.)