Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 422/40)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2032)
Qualifications for recovery manager; identification card.
(a) An applicant is qualified for licensure as a recovery manager if that person meets all of the following requirements:
(1) Is 21 years of age or older.
(2) If convicted of any felony and less than 7 years
have passed from the time of discharge from the sentence imposed, then a finding by the Commission in accordance with Section 85 that the conviction will not impair the applicant's ability to engage in the position requiring a license.
(3) Has completed no less than 2,500 hours of actual
compensated collateral recovery work as an employee of a repossession agency, a financial institution, or a vehicle dealer within the 5 years immediately preceding the filing of an application, acceptable proof of which must be submitted to the Commission.
(4) Has submitted to the Commission 2 sets of
fingerprints, which shall be checked against the fingerprint records on file with the Illinois State Police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation in the manner set forth in Section 60 of this Act.
(5) Has successfully completed a certification
program approved by the Commission.
(6) Has paid the required application fees.
(b) Upon the issuance of a recovery manager license, the Commission shall issue the license holder a suitable pocket identification card that shall include a photograph of the license holder. The identification card must contain the name of the license holder and any other information required by the Commission. An applicant who is 21 years of age or older seeking a religious exemption to the photograph requirement of this subsection shall furnish with his or her application an approved copy of United States Department of the Treasury Internal Revenue Service Form 4029.
(c) A recovery manager license is not transferable.
(Source: P.A. 100-286, eff. 1-1-18