Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 427/42
(225 ILCS 427/42)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2022)
Qualifications for licensure as a supervising community association manager.
(a) No person shall be qualified for licensure as a supervising community association manager under this Act unless he or she has applied in writing on the prescribed forms, has paid the required nonrefundable fees, and meets all of the following qualifications:
(1) He or she is at least 18 years of age.
(2) He or she has been licensed at least one out of
the last 2 preceding years as a community association manager.
(3) He or she provides satisfactory evidence of
having completed at least 30 classroom hours in community association management courses approved by the Board, 20 hours of which shall be those pre-license hours required to obtain a community association manager license, and 10 additional hours completed the year immediately preceding the filing of the application for a supervising community association manager license, which shall focus on community association administration, management, and supervision.
(4) He or she has passed an examination authorized by
(5) He or she has not committed an act or acts, in
this or any other jurisdiction, that would be a violation of this Act.
(6) He or she is of good moral character. In
determining moral character under this Section, the Department may take into consideration whether the applicant has engaged in conduct or activities that would constitute grounds for discipline under this Act. Good moral character is a continuing requirement of licensure. Conviction of crimes may be used in determining moral character, but shall not constitute an absolute bar to licensure.
(7) He or she has not been declared by any court of
competent jurisdiction to be incompetent by reason of mental or physical defect or disease, unless a court has subsequently declared him or her to be competent.
(8) He or she complies with any additional
qualifications for licensure as determined by rule of the Department.
(b) The initial 20-hour education requirement set forth in item (3) of subsection (a) of this Section shall not apply to persons holding a real estate managing broker or real estate broker license in good standing issued under the Real Estate License Act of 2000. The 10 additional hours required for licensure under this Section shall not apply to persons holding a real estate managing broker license in good standing issued under the Real Estate License Act of 2000.
(c) The examination and initial education requirement of items (3) and (4) of subsection (a) of this Section shall not apply to any person who, within 6 months after the effective date of the requirement for licensure, as set forth in Section 170 of this Act, applies for a license by providing satisfactory evidence to the Department of qualifying experience or education, as may be set forth by rule, including without limitation, evidence that he or she has practiced community association management for a period of 7 years.
(d) Applicants have 3 years after the date of application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed within the 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee shall be forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of re-application.
(Source: P.A. 100-892, eff. 8-14-18. Repealed by P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)