Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 427/85.1

    (225 ILCS 427/85.1)
    (This Section may contain text from a Public Act with a delayed effective date)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 85.1. Citations.
    (a) The Department may adopt rules to permit the issuance of citations to any licensee for failure to comply with the continuing education requirements set forth in this Act or as established by rule. The citation shall be issued to the licensee and a copy sent to the licensee's designated community association manager, and shall contain the licensee's name, the licensee's address, the licensee's license number, the number of required hours of continuing education that have not been successfully completed by the licensee within the renewal period, and the penalty imposed, which shall not exceed $2,000. The issuance of any such citation shall not excuse the licensee from completing all continuing education required for that renewal period.
    (b) Service of a citation shall be made in person, electronically, or by mail to the licensee at the licensee's address of record or email address of record, and the citation must clearly state that if the cited licensee wishes to dispute the citation, the cited licensee may make a written request, within 30 days after the citation is served, for a hearing before the Department. If the cited licensee does not request a hearing within 30 days after the citation is served, then the citation shall become a final, non-disciplinary order, and any fine imposed is due and payable within 60 days after that final order. If the cited licensee requests a hearing within 30 days after the citation is served, the Department shall afford the cited licensee a hearing conducted in the same manner as a hearing provided for in this Act for any violation of this Act and shall determine whether the cited licensee committed the violation as charged and whether the fine as levied is warranted. If the violation is found, any fine shall constitute non-public discipline and be due and payable within 30 days after the order of the Secretary, which shall constitute a final order of the Department. No change in license status may be made by the Department until a final order of the Department has been issued.
    (c) Payment of a fine that has been assessed pursuant to this Section shall not constitute disciplinary action reportable on the Department's website or elsewhere unless a licensee has previously received 2 or more citations and been assessed 2 or more fines.
    (d) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit or limit the Department from taking further action pursuant to this Act and rules for additional, repeated, or continuing violations.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)