Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 427/95

    (225 ILCS 427/95)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 95. Investigation; notice and hearing. The Department may investigate the actions or qualifications of a person, entity or other business holding or claiming to hold a license. Before suspending, revoking, placing on probationary status, or taking any other disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper with regard to any license, at least 30 days before the date set for the hearing, the Department shall (i) notify the accused in writing of any charges made and the time and place for a hearing on the charges before the Board, (ii) direct the individual or entity to file a written answer to the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after the service on him or her of such notice, and (iii) inform the person, entity or other business that if the person, entity, or other business fails to file an answer, default will be taken against such person, entity, or other business and the license of such person, entity, or other business may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or other disciplinary action taken with regard to the license, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of his or her practice, as the Department may deem proper. Written notice may be served by personal delivery or by registered or certified mail to the applicant or licensee at his or her last address of record with the Department. In case the person fails to file an answer after receiving notice, his or her license may, in the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status, or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action deemed proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act. The written answer shall be served by personal delivery, certified delivery, or certified or registered mail to the Department. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present such statements, testimony, evidence, and argument as may be pertinent to the charges or to the defense thereto. The Department may continue such hearing from time to time. At the discretion of the Secretary after having first received the recommendation of the Board, the accused person's license may be suspended or revoked, if the evidence constitutes sufficient grounds for such action under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-726, eff. 7-1-10; 97-333, eff. 8-12-11.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 95. Investigation; notice and hearing. The Department may investigate the actions or qualifications of a person, entity or other business applying for, holding or claiming to hold, or holding oneself out as having a license or rendering or offering to render services for which a license is required by this Act and may notify their designated community association manager, if any, of the pending investigation. Before suspending, revoking, placing on probationary status, or taking any other disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper with regard to any license, at least 30 days before the date set for the hearing, the Department shall (i) notify the accused and their designated community association manager, if any, in writing of any charges made and the time and place for a hearing on the charges before the Board, (ii) direct the accused to file a written answer to the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after the service on the accused of such notice, and (iii) inform the accused that if the accused fails to file an answer, default will be taken against the accused and the license of the accused may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or other disciplinary action taken with regard to the license, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of related practice, as the Department may deem proper. The Department shall serve notice under this Section by regular or electronic mail to the applicant's or licensee's last address of record or email address of record as provided to the Department. If the accused fails to file an answer after receiving notice, the license may, in the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status, or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action deemed proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act. The answer shall be served by personal delivery or regular mail to the Department. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present such statements, testimony, evidence, and argument as may be pertinent to the charges or to the defense thereto. The Department may continue such hearing from time to time. At the discretion of the Secretary after having first received the recommendation of the Board, the accused person's license may be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action considered proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for that action under this Act. A copy of the Department's final order shall be delivered to the accused's designated community association manager or, if the accused is directly employed by a community association, to the board of managers of that association if known to the Department.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)