Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 441/5-10

    (225 ILCS 441/5-10)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 5-10. Application for home inspector license. Every natural person who desires to obtain a home inspector license shall:
        (1) apply to the Department on forms prescribed by
    
the Department and accompanied by the required fee; all applications shall contain the information that, in the judgment of the Department, enables the Department to pass on the qualifications of the applicant for a license to practice as a home inspector as set by rule;
        (2) be at least 18 years of age;
        (3) provide evidence of having attained a high school
    
diploma or completed an equivalent course of study as determined by an examination conducted by the Illinois State Board of Education;
        (4) personally take and pass an examination
    
authorized by the Department; and
        (5) prior to taking the examination, provide evidence
    
to the Department that he or she has successfully completed the prerequisite classroom hours of instruction in home inspection, as established by rule.
    Applicants have 3 years after the date of the application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed within 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
(Source: P.A. 100-892, eff. 8-14-18.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 5-10. Application for home inspector license.
    (a) Every natural person who desires to obtain a home inspector license shall:
        (1) apply to the Department in a manner prescribed by
    
the Department and accompanied by the required fee; all applications shall contain the information that, in the judgment of the Department, enables the Department to pass on the qualifications of the applicant for a license to practice as a home inspector as set by rule;
        (2) be at least 18 years of age;
        (3) successfully complete a 4-year course of study in
    
a high school or secondary school or an equivalent course of study approved by the state in which the school is located, or possess a high school equivalency certificate, which shall be verified under oath by the applicant;
        (4) personally take and pass a written examination
    
and a field examination authorized by the Department; and
        (5) prior to taking the examination, provide evidence
    
to the Department that the applicant has successfully completed the prerequisite classroom hours of instruction in home inspection, as established by rule.
    (b) The Department shall not require applicants to report the following information and shall not consider the following criminal history records in connection with an application for licensure or registration:
        (1) juvenile adjudications of delinquent minors as
    
defined in Section 5-105 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 5-130 of that Act;
        (2) law enforcement records, court records, and
    
conviction records of an individual who was 17 years old at the time of the offense and before January 1, 2014, unless the nature of the offense required the individual to be tried as an adult;
        (3) records of arrest not followed by a charge or
    
conviction;
        (4) records of arrest where the charges were
    
dismissed unless related to the practice of the profession; however, applicants shall not be asked to report any arrests, and an arrest not followed by a conviction shall not be the basis of denial and may be used only to assess an applicant's rehabilitation;
        (5) convictions overturned by a higher court; or
        (6) convictions or arrests that have been sealed or
    
expunged.
    (c) An applicant or licensee shall report to the Department, in a manner prescribed by the Department, upon application and within 30 days after the occurrence, if during the term of licensure, (i) any conviction of or plea of guilty or nolo contendere to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any similar offense or offenses or any conviction of a felony involving moral turpitude, (ii) the entry of an administrative sanction by a government agency in this State or any other jurisdiction that has as an essential element dishonesty or fraud or involves larceny, embezzlement, or obtaining money, property, or credit by false pretenses, or (iii) a crime that subjects the licensee to compliance with the requirements of the Sex Offender Registration Act.
    (d) Applicants have 3 years after the date of the application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed within 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)