Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 441/5-12

    (225 ILCS 441/5-12)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 5-12. Application for home inspector license; entity. Every entity that is not a natural person that desires to obtain a home inspector license shall apply to the Department on forms provided by the Department and accompanied by the required fee.
    Applicants have 3 years after the date of the application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed within 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
(Source: P.A. 97-226, eff. 7-28-11.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 5-12. Application for home inspector license; entity. Every entity that is not a natural person that desires to obtain a home inspector license shall apply to the Department in a manner prescribed by the Department and accompanied by the required fee.
    Applicants have 3 years after the date of the application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed within 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
    A corporation, limited liability company, partnership, or entity shall, as a condition of licensure, designate a managing licensed home inspector. The managing home inspector of any home inspector entity shall be responsible for the actions of all licensed and unlicensed employees, agents, and representatives of that home inspector entity while it is providing a home inspection or home inspection service. All other requirements for home inspector entities shall be established by rule.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)