Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 447/20-15)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2029)
Qualifications for licensure as a private
alarm contractor agency.
(a) Upon receipt of the required fee and proof that the
applicant has a full-time Illinois licensed private alarm
contractor licensee-in-charge, which is a continuing requirement for
agency licensure, the Department shall issue
a license as a private alarm contractor agency to
any of the following:
(1) An individual who submits an application and is a
licensed private alarm contractor under this Act.
(2) A firm that submits an application and all of the
members of the firm are licensed private alarm contractors under this Act.
(3) A corporation or limited liability company doing
business in Illinois that is authorized by its articles of incorporation or organization to engage in the business of conducting a private alarm contractor agency if at least one executive employee is licensed as a private alarm contractor under this Act and all unlicensed officers and directors of the corporation or limited liability company are determined by the Department to be persons of good moral character.
(b) No private alarm contractor may be the licensee-in-charge for more than one private alarm
contractor agency. Upon written request by a representative
of an agency, within 10 days after the loss of a licensee-in-charge of an agency because of the
death of that individual or because of the termination of the
employment of that individual, the Department shall issue a
temporary certificate of authority allowing the continuing
operation of the licensed agency. No temporary certificate of
authority shall be valid for more than 90 days. An extension
of an additional 90 days may be granted upon written request
by the representative of the agency. Not more than 2
extensions may be granted to any agency. No temporary permit
shall be issued for loss of the licensee-in-charge because of
disciplinary action by the Department related to
the licensee-in-charge's conduct on behalf of the agency.
(c) No private alarm contractor, private alarm
contractor agency, or person may install or connect an alarm
system or fire alarm system that connects automatically and
directly to a governmentally operated police or fire dispatch
system in a manner that violates subsection (a) of Section
15.2 of the Emergency Telephone System Act. In addition to
the penalties provided by the Emergency Telephone System Act,
a private alarm contractor agency that violates this Section
shall pay the Department an additional penalty of $250 per
(d) Upon issuance of the temporary certificate of
authority as provided for in subsection (b) of this Section
and at any time thereafter while the temporary certificate of
authority is in effect, the Department may request in writing
additional information from the agency regarding the loss of
its licensee-in-charge, the selection of a new licensee-in-charge,
and the management of the agency. Failure of the
agency to respond or respond to the satisfaction of the
Department shall cause the Department to deny any extension of
the temporary certificate of authority. While the temporary
certificate of authority is in effect, the Department may
disapprove the selection of a new licensee-in-charge by the
agency if the person's license is not operative or the
Department has good cause to believe that the person selected
will not fully exercise the responsibilities of a licensee-in-charge.
If the Department has disapproved the selection of another
new licensee-in-charge and the temporary certificate of
authority expires or is about to expire without the agency
selecting a new licensee-in-charge, the Department shall
grant an extension of the temporary certificate of authority
for an additional 90 days, except as otherwise prohibited in
subsection (b) or this subsection (d).
(Source: P.A. 103-309, eff. 1-1-24