Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 447/31-15)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2029)
Qualifications for licensure as a fingerprint vendor agency.
(a) Upon receipt of the required fee, compliance with subsection (e) of this Section, and proof that the applicant has a full-time Illinois licensed fingerprint vendor licensee-in-charge, which is a continuing requirement for agency licensure, the Department may issue a license as a fingerprint vendor agency to any of the following:
(1) An individual who submits an application and is a
licensed fingerprint vendor under this Act.
(2) A firm that submits an application and all of the
members of the firm are licensed fingerprint vendors under this Act.
(3) A corporation or limited liability company doing
business in Illinois that is authorized to engage in the business of conducting a fingerprint vendor agency if at least one officer or executive employee is a licensed fingerprint vendor under this Act and all unlicensed officers and directors of the corporation or limited liability company are determined by the Department to be persons of good moral character.
(b) An individual licensed as a fingerprint vendor operating under a business name other than the licensed fingerprint vendor's own name shall not be required to obtain a fingerprint vendor agency license if that licensed fingerprint vendor does not employ any persons to provide fingerprinting services. However, in either circumstance, the individual shall comply with the requirements of subsection (e) of this Section as a requirement for licensure.
(c) No fingerprint vendor may be the licensee-in-charge for more than one fingerprint vendor agency. Upon written request by a representative of the agency, within 10 days after the loss of a licensee-in-charge of an agency because of the death of that individual or because of the termination of the employment of that individual, the Department shall issue a temporary certificate of authority allowing the continuing operation of the licensed agency. No temporary certificate of authority shall be valid for more than 90 days. An extension of an additional 90 days may be granted upon written request by the representative of the agency. Not more than 2 extensions may be granted to any agency. No temporary permit shall be issued for loss of the licensee-in-charge because of disciplinary action by the Department related to the licensee-in-charge's conduct on behalf of the agency.
(d) Upon issuance of the temporary certificate of authority
as provided for in subsection (c) of this Section and at any
time thereafter while the temporary certificate of authority
is in effect, the Department may request in writing additional
information from the agency regarding the loss of its
licensee-in-charge, the selection of a new licensee-in-charge,
and the management of the agency. Failure of the agency to
respond or respond to the satisfaction of the Department shall
cause the Department to deny any extension of the temporary
certificate of authority. While the temporary certificate of
authority is in effect, the Department may disapprove the
selection of a new licensee-in-charge by the agency if the
person's license is not operative or the Department has good
cause to believe that the person selected will not fully
exercise the responsibilities of a licensee-in-charge. If the
Department has disapproved the selection of a new licensee-in-charge
and the temporary certificate of authority expires or
is about to expire without the agency selecting another new
licensee-in-charge, the Department shall grant an extension of
the temporary certificate of authority for an additional 90
days, except as otherwise prohibited in subsection (c) or this
(e) An applicant shall submit certification issued by the Illinois State Police that the applicant's fingerprinting equipment and software meets all specifications required by the Illinois State Police. Compliance with Illinois State Police fingerprinting equipment and software specifications is a continuing requirement for licensure.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 103-309, eff. 1-1-24