Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 450/14.2)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2029)
Licensure by endorsement.
(a) The Department shall issue a
license as a licensed CPA to any applicant
who holds a current, valid, and unrevoked license as a certified public accountant issued from another state with equivalent educational requirements and examination standards, applies to the Department on forms supplied by the Department, and pays the required fee,
(1) the individual applicant is determined by the
Department to possess qualifications substantially equivalent to this State's current licensing requirements;
(2) at the time the applicant became licensed, the
applicant possessed qualifications substantially equivalent to the qualifications for licensure then in effect in this State; or
(3) the applicant has, after passing the examination
upon which licensure to practice was based, not less than 4 years of experience as outlined in Section 14 of this Act within the 10 years immediately before the application.
(b) In determining the substantial equivalency of any
state's requirements to Illinois' requirements, the
Department may rely on the determinations of the National
Qualification Appraisal Service of the National Association
of State Boards of Accountancy or such other qualification
appraisal service as it deems appropriate.
(c) Applicants have 3 years from the date of application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed in 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee shall be forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
(d) Any individual who is the holder of a current, valid, and not previously disciplined license as a certified public accountant of any state and has applied in writing to the Department in form and substance satisfactory to the Department for a license as a licensed CPA may perform accountancy activities as set forth in Section 8.05 until the earlier of the following dates:
(1) the expiration of 6 months after filing the
(2) the denial of the application by the Department.
Any individual performing accountancy activities under this subsection (d) shall be subject to discipline in the same manner as an individual licensed under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 103-309, eff. 1-1-24