Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 454/5-25
(225 ILCS 454/5-25)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
Good moral character.
(a) When an applicant has had a license revoked on a prior occasion
or when an
applicant is found to have committed any of the practices enumerated in Section
20-20 of this Act or when an
applicant has been convicted of or enters a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under
larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other similar offense or
offenses or has been
convicted of a felony involving moral turpitude in any court of competent
jurisdiction in this or any
other state, district, or territory of the United States or of a foreign
country, the Board may consider
the prior revocation, conduct, or conviction in its determination of the
applicant's moral character
and whether to grant the applicant a license.
(b) In its consideration of the prior revocation, conduct, or conviction, the Board shall take into account the nature of the conduct, any aggravating or extenuating circumstances, the time elapsed since the revocation, conduct, or conviction, the rehabilitation or restitution performed by the applicant, mitigating factors, and any other factors that the Board deems relevant, including, but not limited to:
(1) the lack of direct relation of the offense for
which the applicant was previously convicted to the duties, functions, and responsibilities of the position for which a license is sought;
(2) unless otherwise specified, whether 5 years
since a felony conviction or 3 years since release from confinement for the conviction, whichever is later, have passed without a subsequent conviction;
(3) if the applicant was previously licensed or
employed in this State or other states or jurisdictions, the lack of prior misconduct arising from or related to the licensed position or position of employment;
(4) the age of the person at the time of the
(5) if, due to the applicant's criminal conviction
history, the applicant would be explicitly prohibited by federal rules or regulations from working in the position for which a license is sought;
(6) successful completion of sentence and, for
applicants serving a term of parole or probation, a progress report provided by the applicant's probation or parole officer that documents the applicant's compliance with conditions of supervision;
(7) evidence of the applicant's present fitness and
(8) evidence of rehabilitation or rehabilitative
effort during or after incarceration, or during or after a term of supervision, including, but not limited to, a certificate of good conduct under Section 5-5.5-25 of the Unified Code of Corrections or a certificate of relief from disabilities under Section 5-5.5-10 of the Unified Code of Corrections; and
(9) any other mitigating factors that contribute to
the person's potential and current ability to perform the job duties.
(c) The Department shall not require applicants to report the following information and shall not consider the following criminal history records in connection with an application for licensure or registration:
(1) juvenile adjudications of delinquent minors as
defined in Section 5-105 of the Juvenile Court Act of 1987 subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 5-130 of that Act;
(2) law enforcement records, court records, and
conviction records of an individual who was 17 years old at the time of the offense and before January 1, 2014, unless the nature of the offense required the individual to be tried as an adult;
(3) records of arrests not followed by a charge or
(4) records of arrests where the charges were
dismissed unless related to the practice of the profession; however, applicants shall not be asked to report any arrests, and an arrest not followed by a conviction shall not be the basis of a denial and may be used only to assess an applicant's rehabilitation;
(5) convictions overturned by a higher court; or
(6) convictions or arrests that have been sealed or
(d) If an applicant makes a false statement of material fact on the application, the false statement may in itself be sufficient grounds to revoke or refuse to issue a license.
(e) A licensee shall report to the Department, in a manner prescribed by the Department and within 30 days after the occurrence of: (1) any conviction of or plea of guilty, or nolo contendere to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any similar offense or offenses or any conviction of a felony involving moral turpitude; (2) the entry of an administrative sanction by a government agency in this State or any other jurisdiction that has as an essential element dishonesty or fraud or involves larceny, embezzlement, or obtaining money, property, or credit by false pretenses; or (3) any crime that subjects the licensee to compliance with the requirements of the Sex Offender Registration Act.
(Source: P.A. 101-357, eff. 8-9-19; 102-970, eff. 5-27-22.)