Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 470/56.1

    (225 ILCS 470/56.1) (from Ch. 147, par. 156.1)
    Sec. 56.1. Administrative penalties; judicial review. When an administrative hearing is held, the hearing officer, upon determination of any violation of any Section of this Act shall levy the following administrative monetary penalties:
        (A) A penalty of $500 for a first violation.
        (B) A penalty of $1,500 for a second violation at the
same location within 2 years of the first violation.
        (C) A penalty of $2,500 for a third or subsequent
violation at the same location within 2 years of the second violation.
    The penalty so levied shall be collected by the Department. Any penalty of $2,500 or greater not paid within 120 days of issuance of notice from the Department shall be submitted to the Department of Revenue for collection as provided under the Illinois State Collection Act of 1986. The Department may prohibit any person from using a commercial weighing or measuring device for failure to pay an administrative monetary penalty within 60 days of issuance of notice from the Department.
    All final administrative decisions of the Department are subject to judicial review under the Administrative Review Law. The term "administrative decision" is defined as in Section 3-101 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
(Source: P.A. 100-155, eff. 8-18-17.)