Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
305 ILCS 5/5F-32
(305 ILCS 5/5F-32)
Non-emergency prior approval and appeal.
(a) MCOs must have a method of receiving prior approval requests 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year from nursing home residents, physicians, or providers. If a response is not provided within 24 hours of the request and the nursing home is required by regulation to provide a service because a physician ordered it, the MCO must pay for the service if it is a covered service under the MCO's contract in the Demonstration Project, provided that the request is consistent with the policies and procedures of the MCO.
In a non-emergency situation, notwithstanding any provisions in State law to the contrary, in the event a resident's physician orders a service, treatment, or test that is not approved by the MCO, the enrollee, physician, or provider may utilize an expedited appeal to the MCO.
If an enrollee, physician, or provider requests an expedited appeal pursuant to 42 CFR 438.410, the MCO shall notify the individual filing the appeal, whether it is the enrollee, physician, or provider, within 24 hours after the submission of the appeal of all information from the enrollee, physician, or provider that the MCO requires to evaluate the appeal. The MCO shall notify the individual filing the appeal of the MCO's decision on an expedited appeal within 24 hours after receipt of the required information.
(b) While the appeal is pending or if the ordered service, treatment, or test is denied after appeal, the Department of Public Health may not cite the nursing home for failure to provide the ordered service, treatment, or test. The nursing home shall not be liable or responsible for an injury in any regulatory proceeding for the following:
(1) failure to follow the appealed or denied order;
(2) injury to the extent it was caused by the delay
or failure to perform the appealed or denied service, treatment, or test.
Provided however, a nursing home shall continue to monitor, document, and ensure the patient's safety. Nothing in this subsection (b) is intended to otherwise change the nursing home's existing obligations under State and federal law to appropriately care for its residents.
(Source: P.A. 98-651, eff. 6-16-14; 99-719, eff. 1-1-17