Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

310 ILCS 65/10.5

    (310 ILCS 65/10.5)
    Sec. 10.5. Minimum standard of living requirement. All housing financed under the Illinois Affordable Housing Program must meet a minimum standard of living requirement. In order for a program applicant to be eligible to receive funding to acquire, construct, rehabilitate, develop, operate, insure, or retain affordable single-family or multi-family housing, the applicant must demonstrate that each housing unit can provide and meet the following quality standards, as applicable:
        (1) Cooling standards:
            (A) Housing must have cooling and
dehumidification systems capable of being operated independently from the heating system.
            (B) Newly constructed housing must have permanent
air conditioning.
            (C) All housing cooling and dehumidification
systems must operate when the heat index exceeds 80 degrees.
        (2) Heating standards during the heating season,
October 1 through May 31, unless a unit of government has standards that require a higher temperature of heat, for all housing:
            (A) Between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m., heat must
register at least 68 degrees Fahrenheit when the outside temperature falls below 55 degrees.
            (B) Between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m., heat must
register at least 62 degrees Fahrenheit.
            (C) Housing must not have heat lapse longer than
24 hours.
            (D) Any tenant complaint about heating must be
rectified within 24 hours.
        (3) Windows must open and close with safety
mechanisms installed and must be inspected on a regular basis.
        (4) Maintenance and upkeep.
            (A) Housing, occupied primarily by persons 65
years of age or older or by persons with a disability, must provide laundry machines that are fully operational so that senior residents and residents with disabilities do not have to travel far for their laundry.
            (B) Premises of the single-family or multi-family
housing must be kept fit for human habitation and must be kept reasonably clean and safe and free of trash and food waste.
            (C) Property manager must provide for control of
insects, rodents, and other pests.
            (D) Property manager or maintenance personnel
must respond within a reasonable amount of time (1-2 days) for tenant requests, including, but not limited to, appliances, windows, doors, and painting.
        (5) Property management. Property management
companies must adhere to compliance checks and tenant reviews.
(Source: P.A. 103-248, eff. 6-30-23.)