Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(330 ILCS 105/1)
(from Ch. 126 1/2, par. 26)
The Illinois Department of Veterans' Affairs
shall provide, insofar as moneys are appropriated for those purposes, for
matriculation and tuition fees, board, room rent, books and supplies for
the use and benefit of any natural child, adopted child, minor child who is under a court-ordered guardianship for at least 2 continuous years prior to application, or step-child of an eligible veteran or serviceperson, if the child is not under 10 and not over 18 years of age,
except extension of time may be granted for a child to complete high school
but in no event beyond the 19th birthday, who has for 12 months immediately
preceding his or her application for these benefits had his or her domicile in the
State of Illinois. The child must provide proof of compliance with Illinois compulsory attendance requirements as provided in Section 26-1 of the School Code.
"Eligible veteran or serviceperson" means any veteran or serviceperson, including an Illinois National Guard member, who is on active duty or is active on a training assignment, who has been declared by the U.S. Department of Defense or the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs to be a prisoner of war or missing in action, or has died as the result of a service-connected disability, or has become a person with a permanent disability from service-connected causes with 100% disability and who (i) at the time of entering service was an Illinois resident, or (ii) was an Illinois resident within 6 months after entering such service, or (iii) is a resident of Illinois at the time of application for the grant and, at some point after entering such service, was a resident of Illinois for at least 15 consecutive years. No more
than $250.00 may be paid under this Act for any one child for any one
(Source: P.A. 102-855, eff. 5-13-22.)