Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
410 ILCS 45/7
(410 ILCS 45/7)
(from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1307)
Reports of lead poisoning required; lead information to remain confidential; disclosure prohibited.
Every physician who
diagnoses, or a health care provider, nurse, hospital administrator, or public health officer who has
verified information of the
existence of a blood lead test result for any child or pregnant person shall report the result to the Department. Results identifying an elevated blood lead level shall be reported to the Department within 48 hours of receipt of
shall include the name, address, laboratory results, date
of birth, and any other information about the child or pregnant person deemed essential by
the Department. Directors of clinical laboratories must report to the
Department, within 48 hours of receipt of verification, all
lead analyses equal to or above an elevated blood lead level performed in their facility. The information included in the
clinical laboratories report shall include, but not be limited to, the child's
name, address, date of birth, name of physician ordering analysis, and specimen
type. All blood lead levels less than an elevated blood lead level must be reported to the Department in accordance
with rules adopted by the Department. These rules shall not require reporting
in less than 30 days after the end of the month in which the results
are obtained. All information obtained by the Department from any source and all information, data, reports, e-mails, letters, and other documents generated by the Department or any of its delegate agencies concerning any person subject to this Act receiving a blood lead test
shall be treated in
the same manner as information subject to the provisions of Part 21 of Article
VIII of the Code of Civil Procedure and shall not be disclosed. This prohibition on disclosure extends to all information and reports obtained or created by the Department or any of its delegate agencies concerning any regulated facility that has been identified as a potential lead hazard or a source of lead poisoning. This prohibition on disclosure does not prevent the Department or its delegates from using any information it obtains civilly, criminally, or administratively to prosecute any person who violates this Act, nor does it prevent the Department or its delegates from disclosing any certificate of compliance, notice, or mitigation order issued pursuant to this Act. Any physician, nurse, hospital
administrator, director of a
clinical laboratory, public health officer, or allied health professional
making a report in good faith shall be immune from any civil or criminal
liability that otherwise might be incurred from the making of a report.
(Source: P.A. 100-723, eff. 1-1-19