Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(410 ILCS 70/5)
(from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 87-5)
Minimum requirements for medical forensic services provided to sexual assault survivors by hospitals and approved pediatric health care facilities.
(a) Every hospital and approved pediatric health care facility providing medical forensic services to
sexual assault survivors under this Act
shall, as minimum requirements for such services, provide, with the consent
of the sexual assault survivor, and as ordered by the attending
physician, an advanced practice registered nurse, or a physician assistant, the services set forth in subsection (a-5).
Beginning January 1, 2022, a qualified medical provider must provide the services set forth in subsection (a-5).
(a-5) A treatment hospital, a treatment hospital with approved pediatric transfer, or an approved pediatric health care facility shall provide the following services in accordance with subsection (a):
(1) Appropriate medical forensic services without
delay, in a private, age-appropriate or developmentally-appropriate space, required to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of a sexual assault survivor and which may be used as evidence in a criminal proceeding against a person accused of the sexual assault, in a proceeding under the Juvenile Court Act of 1987, or in an investigation under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
Records of medical forensic services, including
results of examinations and tests, the Illinois State Police Medical Forensic Documentation Forms, the Illinois State Police Patient Discharge Materials, and the Illinois State Police Patient Consent: Collect and Test Evidence or Collect and Hold Evidence Form, shall be maintained by the hospital or approved pediatric health care facility as part of the patient's electronic medical record.
Records of medical forensic services of sexual
assault survivors under the age of 18 shall be retained by the hospital for a period of 60 years after the sexual assault survivor reaches the age of 18. Records of medical forensic services of sexual assault survivors 18 years of age or older shall be retained by the hospital for a period of 20 years after the date the record was created.
Records of medical forensic services may only be
disseminated in accordance with Section 6.5 of this Act and other State and federal law.
(1.5) An offer to complete the Illinois Sexual
Assault Evidence Collection Kit for any sexual assault survivor who presents within a minimum of the last 7 days of the assault or who has disclosed past sexual assault by a specific individual and was in the care of that individual within a minimum of the last 7 days.
(A) Appropriate oral and written information
concerning evidence-based guidelines for the appropriateness of evidence collection depending on the sexual development of the sexual assault survivor, the type of sexual assault, and the timing of the sexual assault shall be provided to the sexual assault survivor. Evidence collection is encouraged for prepubescent sexual assault survivors who present to a hospital or approved pediatric health care facility with a complaint of sexual assault within a minimum of 96 hours after the sexual assault.
Before January 1, 2022, the information required
under this subparagraph shall be provided in person by the health care professional providing medical forensic services directly to the sexual assault survivor.
On and after January 1, 2022, the information
required under this subparagraph shall be provided in person by the qualified medical provider providing medical forensic services directly to the sexual assault survivor.
The written information provided shall be the
information created in accordance with Section 10 of this Act.
(B) Following the discussion regarding the
evidence-based guidelines for evidence collection in accordance with subparagraph (A), evidence collection must be completed at the sexual assault survivor's request. A sexual assault nurse examiner conducting an examination using the Illinois State Police Sexual Assault Evidence Collection Kit may do so without the presence or participation of a physician.
(2) Appropriate oral and written information
concerning the possibility of infection, sexually transmitted infection, including an evaluation of the sexual assault survivor's risk of contracting human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) from sexual assault, and pregnancy resulting from sexual assault.
(3) Appropriate oral and written information
concerning accepted medical procedures, laboratory tests, medication, and possible contraindications of such medication available for the prevention or treatment of infection or disease resulting from sexual assault.
(3.5) After a medical evidentiary or physical
examination, access to a shower at no cost, unless showering facilities are unavailable.
(4) An amount of medication, including HIV
prophylaxis, for treatment at the hospital or approved pediatric health care facility and after discharge as is deemed appropriate by the attending physician, an advanced practice registered nurse, or a physician assistant in accordance with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines and consistent with the hospital's or approved pediatric health care facility's current approved protocol for sexual assault survivors.
(5) Photo documentation of the sexual assault
survivor's injuries, anatomy involved in the assault, or other visible evidence on the sexual assault survivor's body to supplement the medical forensic history and written documentation of physical findings and evidence beginning July 1, 2019. Photo documentation does not replace written documentation of the injury.
(6) Written and oral instructions indicating the need
for follow-up examinations and laboratory tests after the sexual assault to determine the presence or absence of sexually transmitted infection.
(7) Referral by hospital or approved pediatric health
care facility personnel for appropriate counseling.
(8) Medical advocacy services provided by a rape
crisis counselor whose communications are protected under Section 8-802.1 of the Code of Civil Procedure, if there is a memorandum of understanding between the hospital or approved pediatric health care facility and a rape crisis center. With the consent of the sexual assault survivor, a rape crisis counselor shall remain in the exam room during the medical forensic examination.
(9) Written information regarding services provided
by a Children's Advocacy Center and rape crisis center, if applicable.
(10) A treatment hospital, a treatment hospital with
approved pediatric transfer, an out-of-state hospital as defined in Section 5.4, or an approved pediatric health care facility shall comply with the rules relating to the collection and tracking of sexual assault evidence adopted by the Department of State Police under Section 50 of the Sexual Assault Evidence Submission Act.
(a-7) By January 1, 2022, every hospital with a treatment plan approved by the Department shall employ or contract with a qualified medical provider to initiate medical forensic services to a sexual assault survivor within 90 minutes of the patient presenting to the treatment hospital or treatment hospital with approved pediatric transfer. The provision of medical forensic services by a qualified medical provider shall not delay the provision of life-saving medical care.
(b) Any person who is a sexual assault survivor who seeks medical forensic services or follow-up healthcare
under this Act shall be provided such services without the consent
of any parent, guardian, custodian, surrogate, or agent. If a sexual assault survivor is unable to consent to medical forensic services, the services may be provided under the Consent by Minors to Medical Procedures Act, the Health Care Surrogate Act, or other applicable State and federal laws.
(b-5) Every hospital or approved pediatric health care facility providing medical forensic services to sexual assault survivors shall issue a voucher to any sexual assault survivor who is eligible to receive one in accordance with Section 5.2 of this Act. The hospital shall make a copy of the voucher and place it in the medical record of the sexual assault survivor. The hospital shall provide a copy of the voucher to the sexual assault survivor after discharge upon request.
(c) Nothing in this Section creates a physician-patient relationship that extends beyond discharge from the hospital or approved pediatric health care facility.
(d) This Section is effective on and after July 1, 2021.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18; 100-775, eff. 1-1-19; 100-1087, eff. 1-1-19; 101-81, eff. 7-12-19; 101-377, eff. 8-16-19; 101-634, eff. 6-5-20.)