Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
410 ILCS 130/55
(410 ILCS 130/55)
Registration of qualifying patients and designated caregivers.
(a) The Department of Public Health shall issue registry identification cards to qualifying patients and designated caregivers who submit a completed application, and at minimum, the following, in accordance with Department of Public Health rules:
(1) A written certification, on a form developed by
the Department of Public Health consistent with Section 36 and issued by a certifying health care professional, within 90 days immediately preceding the date of an application and submitted by the qualifying patient or his or her designated caregiver;
(2) upon the execution of applicable privacy waivers,
the patient's medical documentation related to his or her debilitating condition and any other information that may be reasonably required by the Department of Public Health to confirm that the certifying health care professional and patient have a bona fide health care professional-patient relationship, that the qualifying patient is in the certifying health care professional's care for his or her debilitating medical condition, and to substantiate the patient's diagnosis;
(3) the application or renewal fee as set by rule;
(4) the name, address, date of birth, and social
security number of the qualifying patient, except that if the applicant is homeless no address is required;
(5) the name, address, and telephone number of the
qualifying patient's certifying health care professional;
(6) the name, address, and date of birth of the
designated caregiver, if any, chosen by the qualifying patient;
(7) the name of the registered medical cannabis
dispensing organization the qualifying patient designates;
(8) signed statements from the patient and designated
caregiver asserting that they will not divert medical cannabis; and
(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Act, a person provided a written certification for a debilitating medical condition who has submitted a completed online application to the Department of Public Health shall receive a provisional registration and be entitled to purchase medical cannabis from a specified licensed dispensing organization for a period of 90 days or until his or her application has been denied or he or she receives a registry identification card, whichever is earlier. However, a person may obtain an additional provisional registration after the expiration of 90 days after the date of application if the Department of Public Health does not provide the individual with a registry identification card or deny the individual's application within those 90 days.
The provisional registration may not be extended if the individual does not respond to the Department of Public Health's request for additional information or corrections to required application documentation.
In order for a person to receive medical cannabis under this subsection, a person must present his or her provisional registration along with a valid driver's license or State identification card to the licensed dispensing organization specified in his or her application. The dispensing organization shall verify the person's provisional registration through the Department of Public Health's online verification system.
Upon verification of the provided documents, the dispensing organization shall dispense no more than 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis during a 14-day period to the person for a period of 90 days, until his or her application has been denied, or until he or she receives a registry identification card from the Department of Public Health, whichever is earlier.
Persons with provisional registrations must keep their provisional registration in his or her possession at all times when transporting or engaging in the medical use of cannabis.
(c) No person or business shall charge a fee for assistance in the preparation, compilation, or submission of an application to the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program or the Opioid Alternative Pilot Program. A violation of this subsection is a Class C misdemeanor, for which restitution to the applicant and a fine of up to $1,500 may be imposed. All fines shall be deposited into the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Fund after restitution has been made to the applicant. The Department of Public Health shall refer individuals making complaints against a person or business under this Section to the Illinois State Police, who shall enforce violations of this provision. All application forms issued by the Department shall state that no person or business may charge a fee for assistance in the preparation, compilation, or submission of an application to the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program or the Opioid Alternative Pilot Program.
(Source: P.A. 100-1114, eff. 8-28-18; 101-363, eff. 8-9-19.)