Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

410 ILCS 535/20

    (410 ILCS 535/20) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 73-20)
    Sec. 20. Fetal death; place of registration.
    (1) Each fetal death which occurs in this State after a gestation period of 20 completed weeks (and when the mother elects in writing to arrange for the burial or cremation of the fetus under Section 11.4 of the Hospital Licensing Act) or more shall be registered with the local or subregistrar of the district in which the delivery occurred within 7 days after the delivery and before removal of the fetus from the State, except as provided by regulation in special problem cases.
        (a) For the purposes of this Section, if the place of
    
fetal death is unknown, a fetal death certificate shall be filed in the registration district in which a dead fetus is found, which shall be considered the place of fetal death.
        (b) When a fetal death occurs on a moving conveyance,
    
the city, village, township, or road district in which the fetus is first removed from the conveyance shall be considered the place of delivery and a fetal death certificate shall be filed in the registration district in which the place is located.
        (c) The funeral director or person acting as such who
    
first assumes custody of a fetus shall file the certificate. The personal data shall be obtained from the best qualified person or source available. The name, relationship, and address of the informant shall be entered on the certificate. The date, place, and method of final disposition of the fetus shall be recorded over the personal signature and address of the funeral director responsible for the disposition. The certificate shall be presented to the person responsible for completing the medical certification of the cause of death.
    (2) The medical certification shall be completed and signed within 24 hours after delivery by the physician in attendance at or after delivery, except when investigation is required under Division 3-3 of Article 3 of the Counties Code and except as provided by regulation in special problem cases.
    (3) When a fetal death occurs without medical attendance upon the mother at or after the delivery, or when investigation is required under Division 3-3 of Article 3 of the Counties Code, the coroner shall be responsible for the completion of the fetal death certificate and shall sign the medical certification within 24 hours after the delivery or the finding of the fetus, except as provided by regulation in special problem cases.
(Source: P.A. 92-348, eff. 1-1-02.)