Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

415 ILCS 5/12.6

    (415 ILCS 5/12.6)
    Sec. 12.6. Certification fees.
    (a) Beginning July 1, 2003, the Agency shall collect a fee in the amount set forth in subsection (b) from each applicant for a state water quality certification required by Section 401 of the federal Clean Water Act prior to a federal authorization pursuant to Section 404 of that Act; except that the fee does not apply to the State or any department or agency of the State, nor to any school district.
    (b) The amount of the fee for a State water quality certification is $350 or 1% of the gross value of the proposed project, whichever is greater, but not to exceed $10,000.
    (c) Each applicant seeking a federal authorization of an action requiring a Section 401 state water quality certification by the Agency shall submit the required fee to the Agency prior to the issuance of the certification. The Agency shall provide notice of the amount of the fee to the applicant during its review of the application. The Agency shall not issue a Section 401 state water quality certification until the appropriate fee has been received from the applicant.
    (d) The Agency may establish procedures relating to the collection of fees under this Section. Notwithstanding the adoption of any rules establishing such procedures, the Agency may begin collecting fees under this Section on July 1, 2003 for all complete applications received on or after that date.
    All fees collected by the Agency under this Section shall be deposited into the Illinois Clean Water Fund. Fees paid under this Section are not refundable.
(Source: P.A. 95-516, eff. 8-28-07.)