Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

415 ILCS 5/9.13

    (415 ILCS 5/9.13)
    Sec. 9.13. Asbestos fees.
    (a) For any site for which the owner or operator must file an original 10-day notice of intent to renovate or demolish pursuant to 40 CFR 61.145(b) (part of the federal asbestos National Emission Standard for Hazardous Air Pollutants or NESHAP), the owner or operator shall pay to the Agency with the filing of each 10-day Notice a fee of $150.
    (b) If demolition or renovation of a site has commenced without proper filing of the 10-day Notice, the fee is double the amount otherwise due. This doubling of the fee is in addition to any other penalties under this Act, the federal NESHAP, or otherwise, and does not preclude the Agency, the Attorney General, or other authorized persons from pursuing an enforcement action against the owner or operator for failure to file a 10-day Notice prior to commencing demolition or renovation activities.
    (c) In the event that an owner or operator makes a fee payment under this Section from an account with insufficient funds to cover the amount of the fee payment, the 10-day Notice shall be deemed improperly filed. The Agency shall so notify the owner or operator within 60 days of receiving the notice of insufficient funds. Failure of the Agency to so notify the owner or operator does not excuse or alter the duty of the owner or operator to comply with the requirements of this Section.
    (d) Where asbestos remediation or demolition activities have not been conducted in accordance with the asbestos NESHAP, in addition to the fees imposed by this Section, the Agency may also collect its actual costs incurred for asbestos-related activities at the site, including without limitation costs of sampling, sample analysis, remediation plan review, and activity oversight for demolition or renovation.
    (e) Fees and cost recovery amounts collected under this Section shall be deposited into the Environmental Protection Permit and Inspection Fund.
(Source: P.A. 93-32, eff. 7-1-03.)